Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
I made these for work last year for Cinco de Mayo and it was a HIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
We are not usually fans of anything fried but this recipe is worth it! If you are baking it then you are missing out. The crunchy deep fried shell covered with the sauce makes the dish perfect! We loved it and even tho it is a lot of work my family loves it. When we are in the rare mood for deep fried I will definitely make it again!!! Instead of green chili's (which my local grocery store didn't have) I used Spicy Rotel and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
I love chimichangas, and this recipe is by far the best, even over my favorite Mexican restaurant! I usually double the seasonings because I like mine really bold in flavor, and I only do 2 cups of water instead of 3. Definitely worth the wait though! Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
Great! Cooked chicken in broth. Doubled spices. Baked at 425 for 20 min instead of frying. Brushed olive oil on top and turned half way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
Love this recipe! Followed exactly until I added a handful of shredded cheddar to the sour cream sauce. I can see doubling the spices when the kids aren't home...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
These were delicious! I wish I'd used less water as others have suggested to cut down on cook time, but other than that, no complaints. One note from me - I thought I could skip the toothpicks, figuring if I rolled them tight enough I wouldn't need to. My first chimi kind of exploded in the deep fryer, and all of the cheese leaked out. I made sure the rest were held closed with toothpicks! Don't skip that step!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
Omg I'm in love. I just happened to stumble upon this recipe on Day 2 of owning a deep fryer and I though to myself, "the family loves burritos, and things that are deep fried" (in moderation, of course), after reading the reviews I was excited to say the least. My 4 foodie stepchildren were just as amped. I made the chicken per the recipe keeping in mind that some reviewers doubled the seasoning, so I made another batch of seasoning and kept it to the side. Before shredding the chicken I tasted and decided to add it, and as one reviewer said it wasn't overpowering at all. It was actually just right. I added 1 teaspoon of apple cider vinegar because...well just because I like it. The chicken turned out so good I'm tossing out my Lawry's Taco Seasoning...and rethinking my life. The sauce was amazing as well, I didn't feel the need to add salt or pepper and it complimented the chimis so well. The kids were already asking for me to prepare it again next week. Thank you sstrawder for sharing such a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Fregoso

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
This meat mixture gets a 5 star rating, it was delicious even my picky eaters loved it. I forgot to read the recipe before starting and boiled the chicken first in just water so I then shredded it and added all the spices and water (reducing to 1 1/2 cups as others had suggested) and followed the directions for the meat mixture from there and it turned out perfect. I also brushed the chimichangas with oil and baked them at 425 for 15 min. and they turned out perfect and much healthier than frying. I didn't try the cream sauce, as I was feeling lazy, just topped with sour cream and salsa. This is a definite keeper and next time I will try it with the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
the chimichangas were delicious, but the sauce was absolutely disgusting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Katona

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
I loved this recipe. Instead of deep frying, I decided to bake them. Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 351) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States