Chicken Chimi in the Oven Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2002
Just loved this this recipe. Of course I fine tuned for my tastes but it was better than any I've had in any restaurant. I used 2 leftover roasted breasts, 1 1/2 cups salsa, less cinnamon, and I did not use the blender to pulverize the salsa. I merely added all the ingredients to the pan after onion and garlic were tender and heated. I used 10 10inch flour tortillas and filled them each with 1/3 cup filling. Now get this! I baked 5 of them and deep fried the other 5. The fried ones were more authentic and did not absorb as much oil as I thought they would.( oil must be very hot) The baked ones were just as delicious but with a slightly different texture to the tortillas. Be sure to paint the tortillas with oil all over before baking. Excellent recipe, Jeri. Kudos to you Francy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
Almost 3 years after first trying this recipe, I still make it at least twice a month. I've eliminated the beans (makes the chimis too mushy) and the garlic (makes the leftovers too stinky). I make extras and freeze them to reheat for lunches -- obviously they're not crispy when reheated, but they're still delicious and the aroma will drive your co-workers crazy with envy! I don't even have to measure any of the ingredients, it's become so familiar and automatic. Thank you, Jeri!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2002
Great recipe! I added a little non-fat cheddar. Hubby loves Chimichangas...so now we can have them and still eat a little more healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
Super yummy! This was such a great recipe to make with a leftover roasted chicken. I'm a bit lazy in the kitchen so I substituted a taco seasoning packet in place of all the spices and it was fabulous. I also took a tip from another reviewer and warmed the tortillas in the microwave before wrapping which made things even easier. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
The hint of cinnamon gives this recipe an interesting twist. It's just enough to be subtle. The chili powder makes a very strong statement so cut back on that a bit if you prefer a little less heat and intensity of chili flavor. Don't bother with adding the water and the extra step of pureeing the sauce as it's not necessary and will just create more clean up. There is also no need to secure the rolls with toothpicks nor turn them while baking. Just roll and bake - they turn out crispy all over and won't fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
I took the advice of many reviewers and reduced the amount of chili powder and completely omitted the cinnamon. The only problem I had was that the "shell" didn't brown in the time given. I baked at 425 for 25 minutes and it still wasn't as crispy as we would have liked. I think I will make again...much healthier than deep frying, but will tinker with spices (like the others) and add our other favorite ingredients like shredded cheese. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
I have been making this for years, easy & excellent. I add one can of drained corn & sometimes 1-2 chopped cooked potatos. I saute the garlic & onion in the pan & then throw it in a big bowl with the rest of the ingrdents(less clean up) We like the sauce thick so I never add the water or blend it. Also use refried black beans they taste the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
I loved this recipe! The only things we changed was we only used 1/8 cup of chili powder and added a little more than 1/2 tsp of cumin. We did not flip the chimi's at the end but took them out after 6 minutes to put cheese on top to melt. My husband did not like the cinnamon, but I loved it. Everyone in the family raved about this recipe and I will be making it again. If you need to get shredded chicken, put bone-in chicken in a crockpot on high for 4 hours with a can of chicken broth and enough water to cover the chicken. After 4 hours the chicken will fall off the bone and you can easily shred it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DESIGNSBYBRIANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Howell, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
These were very good. Instead of putting in the separate spices, I used a taco seasoning packet that I had in the pantry. I bought a rotisserie chicken from Publix and shredded it, which worked really well, and I only used a half of the recommended cinnamon because I was nervous about it. It gave a slightly different flavor which was great. I also topped with store bought queso, on each serving. I wouldn't recommend adding to the whole dish because it would make the leftovers mushy, just heat up the queso and add when serving. Leftovers were great too. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2003
My kids really loved this recipe. I made some changes following other reviewers' suggestions: I used taco seasoning and a can of (mostly) drained diced tomatoes for the chicken mixture which made it just saucy enough. I had some leftover cooked rice that I warmed up and used in the tortillas along with some warmed refried beans, and I added some shredded colby jack cheese. I also used uncooked tortillas that I bought at Costco and lightly cooked them in a skillet before filling them. And I sprayed with cooking spray which made them nice and crispy. Very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Oven Roasted Teriyaki Chicken

Homemade teriyaki sauce adds lip-smacking flavor to roasted chicken thighs.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States