Chicken Chimi in the Oven Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Wow!The family absolutely loved it, kids included. Took the advice of others and used rotisserie chicken, taco seasoning & can of corn drained. I also used all the ingredients from recipe except cinnamon, chilli powder and water. I used blk refried beans vs pinto. The chicken mixture was so good kids kept using it as a dip for their chips while I was assembling the chimis for the oven. Super easy and yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIET5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
These aren't the chimis you find at most Mexican restaurants, but they are great. I cut back on the cinnamon a little, and added some ancho chili powder in place of the regular chili powder--the smoky flavor it adds is great. Most of you are going to think this is strange, but adding cocoa to these gives it an authentic kick that is wonderful. Do spread the olive oil over the entire rolled tortilla after constructing them; it's important to making them crunchy and not soggy. When baking, keep them separated so they brown well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
These were ok. The cinnamon overpowered a little, though it worked with the other seasoning. I may try this again with just a few dashes of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Very good flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
The hint of cinnamon gives this recipe an interesting twist. It's just enough to be subtle. The chili powder makes a very strong statement so cut back on that a bit if you prefer a little less heat and intensity of chili flavor. Don't bother with adding the water and the extra step of pureeing the sauce as it's not necessary and will just create more clean up. There is also no need to secure the rolls with toothpicks nor turn them while baking. Just roll and bake - they turn out crispy all over and won't fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: May 10, 2012
Chicken Chimi in the Oven Haiku: "Husband said of these: 'They're restaurant quality.' Well, said between bites." So I halved the recipe and ended up w/ 8, that I made in 8" tortillas; bit more difficult to fill and roll, since they were smaller, but wow, really fantastic! I followed the recipe exactly (used lime & cilanto-flavored refried beans though), and couldn't have been more impressed, although these suckers are SCORCHING right out of the oven. And I wasn't exaggerating - my hubs did in fact, say they tasted like something from a Mexican restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
This was a good, but SPICY, dish. I omitted the water, and didn't put in a full 1/4 cup of chili powder. The only chili powder I had was chipotle chili powder, so I'm not sure how much hotter it made the dish, but this was definitely spicy - and we like spice. I upped the cumin a bit (because I love cumin), added a tiny bit of shredded jack cheese and baked for about 20 minutes. It probably could have baked longer, but it was crunchy. Served with guacamole, and it was gooood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna-Bat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Super delicious! We added half the cinnamon the 2nd time we made it and it was even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie
Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Cinnamon and cumin really made this recipe great. Easy for a quick meal. Prob could also freeze ahead of time. I used a high quality fresh salsa and they tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
This was good - my husband liked it and even took leftovers for lunch, which considering he isn't a huge chicken fan, is a good indicator for this recipe. It took a lot longer than 15 minutes for it to get even a little crispy, and they were difficult to turn in the oven. I think I will cut the rolls in half next time for easier turning. I also didn't put the entire 1/4 cup of chili powder in, that just seemed way too much and since it was late, I didn't want to make something inedible. I just estimated the amount based on what I put in other similar dishes. All in all, I'll likely make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Oven Roasted Teriyaki Chicken

Homemade teriyaki sauce adds lip-smacking flavor to roasted chicken thighs.

Salsa Chicken

Simple, savory baked chicken flavored with taco seasoning and salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States