Chicken Chimi in the Oven Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Everything was good with the exception of the cinnamon. It had a very distinct flavor which stood out which my husband and daughter immediately picked out. I'll try it again and leave that out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
This came out great nice change in flavor from burritoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I love this recipe! The flavor of the sauce was great. I managed to get this perfectly crisp by baking the chimis on a pampered chef stoneware pan. They only had to be turned once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
My family loved this and thought it was as good as any Mexican restaurant. I added chopped red peppers and green chilli peppers. ST
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Yum! While I LOOOVED these, my hubs (who btw, HAPPILY ate TWO chimi's) "gently" suggested a few (minor) improvements :) I have to agree with him to some extent. Although delicious as is, with a few minor tweaks these could be better. For one, we both agree that the cinnamon flavor was a bit overpowering (I'll cut back to 1/4 t next time). Second, NOTHING compares to the texture of an authentic, DEEP FRIED chimichanga - PERIOD! My husband requested that we deep fry ours next time and I second that. My hubs final comment was that our chimi's were a *tad* wet. I think that was my fault tho.... To speed prep, I purchased a Mexican-seasoned rotisserie chicken. Since I ended up with only 3/4 lb. of shredded meat, I cut back on the sauce but apparently not enough (oops!). :( NOTE: DO NOT brush your chimichangas with 2 T EVOO! A T of oil (better yet, melted butter) is PLENTY!!! You want to LIGHTLY coat each chimi. Otherwise, you'll end up with soggy chimi's or will have to bake FAR longer than 15 minutes in order for them to crisp up. I ended up having to pop mine under the broiler for 5 minutes (be sure to watch carefully!). Served atop a bed of shredded lettuce with some reserved sauce, guacamole, sour cream, pico de gallo and shredded Mexican-blend cheese on top. Mexican rice and tortilla chips rounded out our meal. Thanks for sharing, Jeri. This now tops my favorites list! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
great recipe! My whole family loved it. I cooked my chicken breast in the crock pot with some chicken broth. I used 2 lbs of chicken. I used a whole sweet onion & 4 cloves of garlic. I cut the cinnamon down to 1/4 tsp. When I was done with everything I loaded up the flour tortillas with the beans and chicken mixture, I sprinkled a little taco cheese on them and wrapped them. I didnt puree my chicken mixture and it was still perfect. We did freze the rest of the chimichangas. Thanks Again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIE
Home Town: Sycamore, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
These have a very authentic taste, maybe some cheese and olives would make it taste even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I added some brown/white rice that I had leftover and also put half regular salsa and half Costco mango salsa, which gave it a sweetness. I have a daughter who is sensitive to spicy foods so I halved the chili powder and added some smoked paprika, which I add to almost all the tomato based sauces I make (except Italian) for a smokiness that really adds a lot. I know this sounds like a lot of add-ons but if you made this as is -- it's a great meal. Try Tortilla Factory tortillas. To me, they are the best tasting you can buy (at least in Seattle) in a supermarket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellyn Oaksmith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
My husband and I really enjoyed this recipe. I will make it again with a little less cinnamon, but other than that we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Made it as is. The WHOLE THING was amazing. I used Pace Medium Picante sauce. I left in the cinnamon; I think it gives the recipe some real panache. We put sour cream, chopped onions, tomatoes, and shredded lettuce on top after it was all done. I will definitely be making this again. And again. And again. And again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Oven Roasted Teriyaki Chicken

Homemade teriyaki sauce adds lip-smacking flavor to roasted chicken thighs.

Salsa Chicken

Simple, savory baked chicken flavored with taco seasoning and salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States