Chicken Chimi in the Oven Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 17, 2014
This was a really yummy recipe however i did make a few modifications and also three different kinds. 1)instead of refried beans i used roasted garlic hummus, 2) due to lack of tortillas i used the burrito sized tortillas cut in half and folded like mini triangles, 3) i added bacon to one tray of these and bbq sauce to the other tray. They came out wonderful served w/sour cream and homemade guacamole DELISH! side note:for the shredded chicken i brought water to a rolling boil, seasoned chicken breast w/salt&pepper coated with 2 teaspoons of veggie oil and also seasoned the water w/garlic&onion powder, salt&pepper & cumin as well, reduced water to a simmer dropped the chicken in and let simmer for about 45 minutes then shredded, chicken came out moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crecookin89

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I made this for Mother's Day. I don't like to eat out on the busiest day of the year, but don't want to spend the whole day cooking either. I prepared the filling on Saturday so that it was assembly/baking only required on Sunday. My kids had one bite and all I heard was raves and I want to make these! My son was trying to guess what the seasonings were. We all loved them. I did not add the refried beans. I had side dishes of pinto beans and Mexican rice. It is easy to make and so much better than restaurant chimichangas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Meyeraan Tovar

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
The family & I really enjoyed. Used a pack of taco mix as suggested by other reviewers. Made a pouch of Mexican Rice and added to the Chimi as welll as used Green Enchilada Sauce to add to the top because it looked too dry. Made an Avocado, Red Onion & Tomato salad on the side. We were happy at the end of the meal :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KrisLove
Reviewed: May 5, 2014
This was a delicious and easy recipe! I only had about a cup and a half of salsa so I added some extra water. I didn't purée the mixture bc I like chunky veggies and didn't want to have to clean that too! Instead of using the spices (I was going to omit the cinnamon), I used a taco mix packet that I had on hand. To finish it off, I threw some shredded cheddar and about half a can of black beans into the filling. We only had whole wheat flour tortillas so I wrapped them up, topped them with some of the leftover sauce, some mexi-cheese and baked for about 6-7 minutes. Fantastic! My husband was way impressed and decided we would add this into our regular rotation. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrisLove

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Reduce chilli powder; use all salsa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Very good. - used black beans. Didn't have refried beans and it was still good. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
So good! The hint of cinnamon made all the difference. Will definitely make again. Maybe next time add cheese inside the tortilla? I also added a sprinkling of garlic salt on top of the oiled tortillas before they were baked. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
excellent flavour and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Wowza!! I'm in love! Haha. This was delicious and very easy to make. Definitely making this one again soon!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Terrific recipe. I didn't blend the salsa mixture ( to save time) and it turned out great. My husband raved about it. This one is a keeper. Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Oven Roasted Teriyaki Chicken

Homemade teriyaki sauce adds lip-smacking flavor to roasted chicken thighs.

Salsa Chicken

Simple, savory baked chicken flavored with taco seasoning and salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States