Chicken Chimi in the Oven Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
This recipe is delish!!!!! My family raved about this! The only changes i made was i bought a rotisserie chicken from the store and shredded it and i added sharp cheddar cheese to the tortilla 1st to help keep it all together so i wouldn't have to use toothpicks. Next time i will try adding the yummy salsa mixture and raw chicken to the crock pot and cook it all day. If you haven't tried this recipe you must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Really good. I added a can of green chiles when I added the salsa to chicken, no cinnamon and less chili powder. Brushed with olive oil and came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Awesome, easy, very flavorful recipe! Must make again my family loved it! We just brushed coconut oil instead of olive oil and used organic wheat tortillas. Simply delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
My DH helped prepare this dish. I prefer corn tortillas and used them instead of the flour ones. Made it as written otherwise. Served with homemade guacamole and no-fat sour cream. A great dinner -- we'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
These crisped up and were pretty tasty. My only problem (and it's my own fault) is I didn't have enough mild salsa for 2 cups. So I used 1 cup mild and 1 cup mango salsa which gave this an odd flavor. Also, I debated whether or not to use the cinnamon, so I was only going to use a small dash. But, once again, a mistake was made and I over-did the dash. So I didn't like the overall flavor of the chimis. I sprayed a cookie sheet with cooking spray, placed my chimis, and then brushed on some olive oil. Baked for 15 minutes, then flipped them and baked for another 5. Perfectly crispy. I'll definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
My tweak was to make the chicken "piccadillo" by adding slivered toasted almonds, chopped green pimento-stuffed olives and currents to the chicken mix. Adds a nice crunch and sweet/sour flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I had to tweak this recipe a bit, because of the salt and fat content. I always have left over chicken so I heated the leftovers added sautéed onions, with some salsa. I made the Taco seasoning I recipe, on this site, which has much less salt. Mixed it all together. Warmed up some flour tortillas & put the chicken mixture with refried black beans (my hubby's favorite) Rolled and placed in a pan. Brushed with a good grade of evoo. When they were finished, topped with Fat Free Sour cream, Extra Salsa, & Sliced avocados. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellybeth
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
This is one of the rare recipes that I make over and over again. It's really that good. I have made it with the onion and garlic and sometimes I just rely on the onion and garlic that's in the salsa that I use. I always add the amount of spices called for too. I usually add a little shredded cheddar on top of the refried beans and have never found that I need to secure the tortillas with a toothpick. If we ever have leftovers they never go to waste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellybeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Yum! This dish was very good, but it was actually the method that caught my attention. I had cooked up a can of drained and rinsed black beans, corn, diced tomatoes, a poblano pepper and some spices and had also roasted a whole chicken. Wanting a good way to use them, I baked bean and chicken burritos like this recipe, topping with mozzarella cheese the last five minutes - for 20 minutes total. Delicious! And even better the second night when I used an olive oil cooking spray(a mister would be perfect). This method worked great even with gluten free tortillas, which makes them all the better - for me, anyway! Thank you for this great idea, Jeri. I will definitely be making this again and might even use your ingredients next time. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
These were good, but only without the seasonings (ruined the flavor of the salsa) and pan-fried. The tortillas get way too crisp baked in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Oven Roasted Teriyaki Chicken

Homemade teriyaki sauce adds lip-smacking flavor to roasted chicken thighs.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States