Chicken Chimi in the Oven Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Very good recipe and very simple for a weeknight. If you like to let your meat mixture sit a few hours before making your wraps then go for it but I thought it was good the way it was. We have chili powder that is not spicy, so we had no issues with heat other then what was in the medium salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longueuil, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
My family loved this. We didn't have any garlic but it was fine without and I skipped the onion because my salsa had plenty in it already. I forgot to put the toothpicks in and so instead left them in the oven for ten minutes before turning only once so they were more set. I know at least one reviewer said they didn't like the beans because they made it soggy when reheated but I didn't have that problem at all and actually felt the beans made the leftovers. I'll definitely be making this again. Edit: I made this again recently with ground beef instead of chicken. (I skipped the food processor as well this time around though I don't think that made much difference.) They were delicious, better than the chicken version, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Really good! I left out the onion and didn't use a food processor..trying to make it easier. Used half the amount chilli powder and left out the water..turned out awesome! Ate them with sour cream. Next time I will try them with cheese dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen O'Brien
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
My boyfriend and I love, love, love this recipe! I did a few things different. I boiled the chicken breast and shredded it by hand. I added all seasonings except cinnamon and also added a little red pepper. Added shredded cheese inside the chimi and once it was cooked, I topped the outside with the remaining salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
delicious & so easy too. i substituted 1 c. diced tomatoes for 1 c. of salsa because i have 4 preschool aged children. all around huge hit at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Loved it! Very different flavor. I only used 3 T. chili powder and shredded some Monterey Jack cheese on top when it came out...YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dione
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
This is an awesome recipe to use up leftover chicken. I used a fresh salsa which I think made a big difference. I also saved a little time by throwing the cooked chicken in with the salsa mix when chopping it in the food processor. It really shredded the chicken in a jiffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aopiuofc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
These are great. I add green chile sauce and melted salsa con queso on top. yummm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
I followed this recipe as written with the following exceptions.... I ran out of chili powder so I used about 1/8 cup plus about 1 1/2 Tbl cayenne pepper (my husband likes spicy food, so it wasn't a problem). I also omitted the water as others suggested. Cheddar cheese was added on top of the chicken & beans before baking, and this turned out really tasty; you could use other cheeses and it would turn out just as well, I think. There was well more than enough filling for six tortillas, so I ending up with eleven chimichangas. I will try freezing the leftovers and reheating in the microwave. My husband fried some of the prepared chimichangas while the rest were baked. The resulting two tastes were different, as would be expected, but both ways turned out well. All in all, I think this recipes is well worth making: one that I will certainly make again. Next time I will omit the cinnamon (based on personal preference). This recipe was a great use for leftover baked chicken from dinner a few nights ago!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vicenza, Veneto , Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
I really liked these and they didn't take long to prepare. I, too, used about 1/2 of the chili powder and I should have cut down on the cinnamon as well. Next time. The tortillas browned beautifully. I think I would make extra sauce next time to pour over the finished chimis. Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Oven Roasted Teriyaki Chicken

Homemade teriyaki sauce adds lip-smacking flavor to roasted chicken thighs.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States