Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
I am always looking for a different way to cook healthy, to keep from becoming bored. I tried this recipe, but put my own spin on it. Instead of Crushed Red Pepper, I used canned Chipolte Peppers, (add to taste, not the whole can unless you like super hot). And I also added a cup of Sun Dried Tomatoes in addition to the can tomatoes. Just because I like the flavor and use them whenever possible. I also used real garlic. I served it over rice and it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lois

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mena, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Loved this recipe, very delicious! Great meal to cook up ahead of time. To help make a little more healthy, I cooked up my own tomatoes instead of using canned, didn't take much longer to do. I also added chili power to make it spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
This was really good! Healthy & hearty. Changes I made: used rotisserie chicken and pulled it apart to save time, used real garlic when I sauteed the onions, and added a can of rotel tomatoes with chilis because I didn't have any bell peppers on hand, also added a 28 oz. can of diced tomatoes with juice in the end because I felt the dish needed more of a tomoato-ey flavor. Oh, and I added 1/2 tsp. of ground chipotle for an extra kick. Served with tortilla chips, shredded Mexican cheese, sour cream and avocado. Delish!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cincy Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
My husband had thirds! We used chicken thighs since we had them handy. Great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MathScem

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
This is a great recipe ! Made it last night and it was scrumptious. The only things I changed was adding a little seasoned salt and fresh ground black pepper. Used real garlic instead of powder. Instead of canned corn, I used fresh corn on the cobb (I always do) and cut the kernels off. Then I took the stripped cobb's, and put them into the chili while it was simmering for added flavor ! My wife and sons loved it ! I love pleasing my wonderful wife and my three "sunshine's ever day". They're 10, 8, and 4 and AWESOME !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by brigittf.
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I was trying to figure out something to prepare with two ingredients, chicken breastcutlets and black beans. I knew I wanted a hearty recipe for this cold weather we are having here in the Midwest. So I used the ingredients link above, and I found this. My son is scraping his bowl as I am typing this now, I would say it's a HIT! I doubled the recipe and omitted the Northern beans and used fresh garlic. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I really liked this recipe. Easy and healthy. Added to my recipe file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
next time cutting chicken smaller other wise awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
This chili was great! It had nice flavor and texture. I left out the peppers and black beans because of what we had and used 1/2 cup of chicken broth. Easy, healthy, recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
I loved this one! The only thing I would add is some fresh chopped cilantro and a dab of sour cream on top of each serving. Lime zest would be good too to add on top. I also made a sweet cornbread recipe I found on allrecipes to go along with this. I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Oven-Fried Chicken

Pump up the flavor with this delicious, healthier oven-fried chicken.

Beef Stew with Roasted Winter Vegetables

This hearty stew is fresh and flavorful, and makes a great comfort-food meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States