Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
I am always looking for a different way to cook healthy, to keep from becoming bored. I tried this recipe, but put my own spin on it. Instead of Crushed Red Pepper, I used canned Chipolte Peppers, (add to taste, not the whole can unless you like super hot). And I also added a cup of Sun Dried Tomatoes in addition to the can tomatoes. Just because I like the flavor and use them whenever possible. I also used real garlic. I served it over rice and it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lois

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mena, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Loved this recipe, very delicious! Great meal to cook up ahead of time. To help make a little more healthy, I cooked up my own tomatoes instead of using canned, didn't take much longer to do. I also added chili power to make it spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
This was really good! Healthy & hearty. Changes I made: used rotisserie chicken and pulled it apart to save time, used real garlic when I sauteed the onions, and added a can of rotel tomatoes with chilis because I didn't have any bell peppers on hand, also added a 28 oz. can of diced tomatoes with juice in the end because I felt the dish needed more of a tomoato-ey flavor. Oh, and I added 1/2 tsp. of ground chipotle for an extra kick. Served with tortilla chips, shredded Mexican cheese, sour cream and avocado. Delish!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cincy Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
My husband had thirds! We used chicken thighs since we had them handy. Great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MathScem

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
This is a great recipe ! Made it last night and it was scrumptious. The only things I changed was adding a little seasoned salt and fresh ground black pepper. Used real garlic instead of powder. Instead of canned corn, I used fresh corn on the cobb (I always do) and cut the kernels off. Then I took the stripped cobb's, and put them into the chili while it was simmering for added flavor ! My wife and sons loved it ! I love pleasing my wonderful wife and my three "sunshine's ever day". They're 10, 8, and 4 and AWESOME !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by brigittf.
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I was trying to figure out something to prepare with two ingredients, chicken breastcutlets and black beans. I knew I wanted a hearty recipe for this cold weather we are having here in the Midwest. So I used the ingredients link above, and I found this. My son is scraping his bowl as I am typing this now, I would say it's a HIT! I doubled the recipe and omitted the Northern beans and used fresh garlic. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I really liked this recipe. Easy and healthy. Added to my recipe file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
next time cutting chicken smaller other wise awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
This chili was great! It had nice flavor and texture. I left out the peppers and black beans because of what we had and used 1/2 cup of chicken broth. Easy, healthy, recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
I loved this one! The only thing I would add is some fresh chopped cilantro and a dab of sour cream on top of each serving. Lime zest would be good too to add on top. I also made a sweet cornbread recipe I found on allrecipes to go along with this. I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Oven-Fried Chicken

Pump up the flavor with this delicious, healthier oven-fried chicken.

Beef Stew with Roasted Winter Vegetables

This hearty stew is fresh and flavorful, and makes a great comfort-food meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States