Chicken Chili Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
When I made this chili I used 3 cans of beans,, 2cups of frozen corn & 2cups of chicken broth instead of the water. The other thing different I did was let it cook in a crock pot on high for about 6 hrs. There was not even a drop left that football Sunday! Success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
I only used one green and one red pepper, black beans instead of kidney, and crushed tomatoes instead of diced due to FC (finicky child), and she still didn't like this soup. My husband and I LOVED it; the FC knows nothing! I also substituted chicken broth for the water and added extra corn, and will make it the same way next time. Minced cilantro is a tasty garnish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I used a combination of red, orange and yellow organic peppers and I threw in a bunch of fresh minced garlic and three coarsely chopped zucchini in with the chopped veggies/chicken. Instead of kidney beans, I used organic black beans because that's what I had on hand. I used organic chicken broth instead of water to add a little more flavor and after tasting it, I added in onion powder, ground coriander, oregano, paprika, and a little Splenda brown sugar blend and threw in a bit more cumin and chili powder. This soup is very tasty. I highly recommend using all organic ingredients if you can and really adding the extra spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
This is a good recipe. For a quick meal I used ground chicken and chicken broth instead of water. It is now on our list of regular meals, and it carries well for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
I followed other's suggestions by replacing the kidney beans with black beans (only 3 cans) and replacing water with chicken broth. I also added 50% extra chili powder, real minced (sauteed) garlic instead of garlic powder, and omitted the parsley. It turned out great, but it gets better with age (a crock pot would probably yield the best results).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2004
I scaled the recipe in half, and my husband and I still made 2 meals of it. I didn't modify anything else, and it was very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
Quick to prepare and good tasting. My husband said it had the perfect blend of seasonings. I added seasoning salt, fresh ground black pepper and used frozen diced onions, green peppers and a Fiesta blend bag of veggies that included black beans. Left out the kidney beans. Topped with sour cream, shredded cheddar cheese and tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
Flavorful chili with low fat! Tasted great and wasn't too spicy. I'll make it again. Made with a side of cornbread for a hearty meal on a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alcester, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Very good soup. I used three cans of kidney beans, 2 cups of corn and I used rotel tomatoes in place of the diced tomatoes and three in a seeded, chopped jalapeno. I like the calorie content as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
I was not at all impressed with this chili. To me it tasted like it was definitely missing something, and I could not figure out what it was. This soup was watery and the chicken didn't soak up the flavor well at all. It was extremely bland. I eventually added some hot sauce, oregano, and cheese, which seemed to help some. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili

This zesty white-bean chili packs some heat!

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States