Chicken Chili II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Manda
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I really like this chicken chilli! I opted for black beans instead of cannelloni beans (it's what I had on hand) and I love the tip to use corn meal - I don't usually do chilli's with broth, and this thickened it up really well and it has a nice taste to it. Thanks for the recipe! I plan on throwing the left-overs on top of some rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I used pinto beans, and it turned out great. I also upped the spices by quite a bit, a couple tablespoons of each, but that may just be because my spices can get a little old and not as flavorful. The only thing I would do different is only use 3, maybe 4 cups of broth. It was way more "brothy" than was ideal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Ellen Pedroza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Crestline, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Perhaps it was me, but I could not get this to thicken! However, the flavor was great. I will try this again and take some advice from past reviews to thicken it a bit. I loved the sour cream idea below.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANINEGOODWIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kendall, New York, USA
Living In: Hilton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Enjoy this recipe. I changed a few things. Doubled chili powder. Only used one can beans and added one can corn. Simmered on stove for a couple hours. Served with cheddar cheese. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
It was a cold and rainy day here in Minnesota, so I decided I'd look for a chicken chili recipe. I'm sorry I chose this one. First of all, it turns out much more like soup than chili. It's not thick at all. It is also not spicy in the least. I added more chili powder and cumin also added ancho chili powder and smoked paprika. Then it tasted too gritty, so I added fresh lime juice to cut the grittiness. That made it slightly better. I dished it up over rice like someone suggested. My husband and I ate two bites and looked at each other disappointed. I said it's missing something. My husband said - tomatoes. Then I realized this chili recipe has no tomatoes. How strange. I added a can of tomato paste. That really helped. It thickened it and added flavor. I should have stopped there, but I had many fresh tomatoes to use up, so I added to fresh chopped tomatoes. That seemed to dull the flavor a bit, so I added more chili powder. I dished it up and we each tried to eat it again. It was better, but definitely it was still just in the okay category. We discussed how it lacked flavor and I realized I always use some sausage in my regular chili. So I pulled out two Andouille sausages for more flavor. They might have improved it slightly, but it was hard to tell because by that point I had an extremely large pot of okay chili. Uggh! It was the ever expanding recipe gone wrong. It just didn't work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
I love this recipe, but I do change it around every time I make it. I think using ground turkey works so much better and today I even added finely chopped zucchini to use up the boatload of zucchini I'm drowning under. It worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
My one year old and four year both ate a whole bowl of it! It was great. I only had green peppers, and only used two 14oz cans of chicken broth, which was more than enough. It was soupy and the cornmeal didnt seem to do much to thicken it so I added a little cornstarch. It helped and it turned out great. I sprinkled on some cheese, crunched up tortilla chips, and topped with a little sour cream. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
Loved it! My husband is from Texas & thought it was a sin to make chili with chicken but he liked it. I followed the recipe but used 7 oz. green chilis a little extra cumin and cooked for about 45 minutes and it thickened itself. I made lime/chili tortilla chips and a salad and it was a great dinner. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blowing Rock, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
After reading the reviews and making some minor adjustments to this recipe it came out great. I reduced the amount of chicken broth to 3 cups and used the cornmeal 1/2 cup. Also, I added some grilled corn kernels and diced up a grilled pasilla pepper. This add more flavor. I definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
This is a really good recipe and great on a cold evening. I did make a few adjustments - used only 2 T. of olive oil - used 3 T. of chili powder and 2 tsp. of hot pepper sauce. I felt it needed a bit more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili

This zesty white-bean chili packs some heat!

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States