Chicken Chili I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
As written this was really bland and tasteless. I added a tablespoon of chili powder and that made it absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I didn't like this. The cloves were overpowering. I might add just a pinch of cloves, but no more. To make this soup edible I added fresh chopped cilantro and 2 tsp more salt and garnished with sour cream. Since I don't have a crockpot big enough to make this I pressure cooked the beans and otherwise followed the directions. I did not add black pepper or jalapeno because I don't like black pepper and my children won't eat spicy food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scarborough Fair

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prunedale, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Yummy stuff! I hate messing with dried beans so I used an equivalent amount in canned (which is about 6-7 c. for 1 lb dry). Interestingly, I used all the chicken broth called for, which normally would have been at least partially soaked up with the beans - so I'm not quite sure how this works out if using dry beans. Just as a note, this is more like a white chili and isn't *supposed* to have a tomato base - that's part of the point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
no one cared for this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
LOVED IT!! I did make a few changes: used 4 cans of navy beans instead of frozen (cooks faster), We do not like extra spicy, so no chile or jalapeno peppers for us. Instead I put 1/2 tbl chili powder - my family loved it! I also did not have cooked chichen so my 1st step was to boil a packed of tenderloins in the chicken broth!!! It worked very well! I thickened the broth with corn starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yarag009

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
Followed the recipe as is. Wonderful - a definite keeper!!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2004
I soak the beans a couple of hours or overnight, then drain and proceed with the recipe as stated. Very Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2004
I like this recipe because of its fairly unusual use of navy beans. Nice change...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
This recipe is also very good with leftover turkey. I cut back on the oregano and added some cayenne, a little cilantro and coriander to the other ingredients spice wise. When adding the chicken/turkey I also add 1/2 c of tequila for more of a southwestern flavor. Making a roux of butter and flour adding slowing before serving will thicken it up nicely. Topping with some fresh chopped tomato, fresh cilantro and chopped red onion is perfect. We call this 'White Chili'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2001
Great recipe for chili. A nice change from the typical meat, bean and tomato variety. I'd recommend it to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili

This zesty white-bean chili packs some heat!

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States