Chicken Chile Spaghetti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Made exactly as the recipe states and turned out delicious! My family gobbled it up. Next time I think I'll leave out the green pepper (not a big fan), use fresh sauteed mushrooms and add more garlic. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
This is a great different way to have spaghetti. I did make a few changes based on what other reviewers said and to suit our tastes. I used rotisserie chicken, about half a chicken. I cut the butter back to 1/2 cup and will probably cut back to 1/4 next time. Used 2 celery stalks and added an extra garlic clove. Omitted the bell pepper but will try with a red pepper next time. Added 3/4 teaspoon mexican oregano and a can of cream of mushroom soup instead of the canned mushrooms. Also uppped the pasta to one pound. Turned out wonderful. Will definately make again. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Cove, New York, USA
Living In: Winslow, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Wow - I wasn't sure what to expect but we all REALLY enjoyed this! Very minor changes were made: green onion instead of regular, skipped the bell pepper because I forgot and no mushrooms cuz I don't like them. I didn't sautee the veggies first which kept them nice and crunchy, great texture. I also used nearly the full lb of pasta so I dumped in an extra can of diced tomatoes. Holy cow! Can't wait for leftovers tomorrow! Next time I will cheat tho and use a rotisserie chicken, cuz that was a little too much work...lol. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Chase Simon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Pretty good! I liked this, but my fiance didn't at all. I pretty much followed Steph's directions to the letter, except for making a few changes of my own. For one, I 1/2'd the recipe (expecting leftovers). I STILL had TRIPLE the amt. of food I thought I'd have - which is too bad since my fiance won't eat the leftovers.... My only other changes were omitting the mushrooms (we don't like them), subbing a pre-purchased rotisserie chicken & adding a can of cream of chichen soup (didn't seem creamy enough w/o it). I also boiled my spaghetti in chicken broth (i.e. what I had left in my fridge + 2 (14.5 oz.) cans + enough H2O to fill my lg. pot - ~ 2 fulls cans worth) to compensate for not making my own as directed. I used the leftover broth to moisten everything, but didn't need much of it. While I liked this, I wouldn't make it a "regular" on my menu rotation. If I were making this for myself again, I think I'd use cream of mushroom soup instead of cream of chicken. I'd also use the sc method PODGER1 suggested. Served w/ biscuits, this was a filling meal. Thx. for sharing, Stephanie :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Very good and rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
Yummy!! All I can say is yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
Absolutely fabulous, although I did saute the veggies in olive oil instead of butter. I also used whole wheat noodles because I took it to a company pot luck & have some diabetics in the group. Got many compliments on the dish. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitrn01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
I used the crock pot for this recipe, using the suggestions that others have made. I omitted the butter, added one cup of chicken broth and one can of cream of mushroom soup. I used boneless skinless chicken breasts cut into bite sized piece and threw all but the pasta into the crock pot raw. I boiled the pasta for half the time recommended on the box and added it to the crock pot half way through my cooking time of 3 hours on high. Yummy and perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
The first time I made this, I put it in the crockpot. That time I only gave it 4 stars, but I'm changing my rating. I made it in the oven for my family and it was much better. Also, I was careful not to shred up the chicken too much and kept the pieces in bigger 1 inch chunks. It was great! Even my 2 year old daughter liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Absolutely loved this recipe! I made a few alterations. I use a Rotisserie Chicken from my local Grocery Deli. I did use chicken broth to boil up my noodles I omitted the celery and most all of the butter and used a red pepper instead of green. Other than that this is most definitely a comfort food to die for and will be going in the personal favorites cookbook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Meatballs and Spaghetti

What's cooking in Chicago? Kim's healthy chicken meatballs and spaghetti.

Chicken Spaghetti II

See how to make a cheesy, quick-and-easy pasta sauce for spaghetti.

Chicken Chile Verde

Watch Chef John cook a simple but scrumptious chicken in tomatillo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States