Chicken Chile Spaghetti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
I thought this was pretty good. I was hustling around my kitchen and forgot the garlic. I normally love garlic, but I would say that you should save yourself from washing your mincer and leave it out. I also left out the mushrooms. I used a 10 oz. bag of coiled vermicelli and I thought that was perfect. I used about 1/2-2/3 cup of the reserved chicken broth to poor over my pan before putting in the oven. I do have to say that this recipe did seem like a huge mess and a lot of trouble for "spaghetti", but I think it would have been easier had I followed the advice of others and bought a rotisserie chicken, or boiled chicken breasts. It was quite a nice change from normal spaghetti for my husband and I. However, even with the mild tomatoes and green chilies, it was too spicy for my 2 1/2 year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Pretty good recipe. The name is a little misleading, It is more of a chicken chili mac and cheese. I added black olives just because my family loves them so much, used fresh mushrooms and added a can of cream of mushroom soup and a can of fiesty nacho cheese soup since I was using my home canned tomatoes that didn't have the peppers in them. I also added more garlic, onion, Chili powder, and salt & Pepper. But I'm sure this recipe stands just fine on its own. I did find the nacho cheese soup a great addition to this so I would highly recommend adding it again even if using the right tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dreamer727

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annandale, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Cokato, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Very good and makes a ton!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Great recipe. makes a ton of food. (It says to reserve chick. broth, but since I baked my chicken I just used a can of chick. broth.) I used 4 seasoned chicken breast. I baked the chicken breast then pulled apart. Used fresh mushroom instead of canned. It tastes good with or without... but I decided to add a can of cream of mushroom soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer-cita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muskegon, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I made this as a Birthday dinner for a member of my family and was VERY weary about the way it looked before I baked it but after it cooked and I mixed it all around a final time it looked and tasted DELICIOUS! This is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyndy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Very yummy comfort food. The leftovers are even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
My husband is still eating as I write this...his 3rd or maybe 4th helping (I lost track!). It was awesome! The only change I made was that I boiled 4 boneless chicken breast (still frozen) till they were cooked through and used the broth from that plus a little extra to boil the pasta. I also used the Rotel "hot" version of the chopped tomatoes. Next time I am going to try Velveeta light so I can consume more with out worry about the calories so much! I will also use a little less pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belmont, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
I really wanted to like this recipe, but we did not like it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
This was a good alternative to a typical casserole. I used fresh mushrooms and omitted the pepper due to taste. I also used cooked chicken breast instead of a whole chicken. Hubby requested this dish again a few weeks later. Note: Do not use the tomatoes with green chilis b/c too spicy for the kids. Use plain tomatoes and then add diced green chilis can b/c they are milder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Made exactly as the recipe states and turned out delicious! My family gobbled it up. Next time I think I'll leave out the green pepper (not a big fan), use fresh sauteed mushrooms and add more garlic. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Meatballs and Spaghetti

What's cooking in Chicago? Kim's healthy chicken meatballs and spaghetti.

Chicken Spaghetti II

See how to make a cheesy, quick-and-easy pasta sauce for spaghetti.

Whole Grain Spaghetti with Chicken

A simple mixed nut pesto pairs perfectly with nutty whole grain spaghetti.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States