Chicken, Cheese, and Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2003
Nice basic "casserole" dish to make. However I changed this recipe quite a bit. First I am vegetarian, so I omit the chicken. Because the recipe calls for 3 cups of vegetables to begin with, and most people said that it's not enough, I usually use 5-6 cups of vegetables. I use everything from broccoli to mixed veggies to corn, basically whatever I've got in my freezer at the time. Also, I cook the biscuits while making the stove top portion, then when the stove top portion is done I dump that into a serving platter/baking tray and put the cooked biscuits right on top. Now it's ready to serve without needing to be baked in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
This was delicious, but next time I'll use an 8"x8" dish and half a can of biscuit dough, or else double everything except the dough. There wasn't enough of the chicken mixture for a 9x13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
I cooked the biscuits a bit before adding the "casserole" mixture to it so it wouldn't be soggy. I also added some carrots and potatoes (already cooked) to make it more filling. I didn't think that this had enough flavor and it did take a while to prepare. I will make again but tweak the spices to suit our tastes. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
My family loved this recipe. I used chicken breasts (3) and had broccoli on the side. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2001
This is my favorite casserole!! The mustard and sage give this great flavor. It's also good with cooked carrots and onions added-it bulks it up and also adds more healthy veggies. My family doesn't like casseroles but LOVE this one. Try it. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
A BIG hit for the whole family! Only changes I made were I added minced garlic to the pan w/ some canola oil to saute the chicken cubes, then removed chicken, and proceeded w/ the margarine, flour etc..AND bc I was making about double the amount I threw in a can of cream of mushroom soup, but added the other ingredients as written. Soooo creamy and delicious, and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Largo, Florida, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2002
This recipe is DELICIOUS. Got a 'mmm this is GOOD' from the boyfriend, instead of the usual 'yeah, it's alright...'. Forgot to buy the mushrooms and greenbeans, but I'm sure this would make it all better. I would definately agree about baking the biscuits separately, then adding them together later. The only thing was I had trouble making the flour/butter mixture melt into the milk - it stayed clumpy throughout...Still good though....THANKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
I thought this was wonderful! My family could not stop raving. I read the previous review and doubled up the recipe so that it would work in a 9x13in. dish. Still used the one can of biscuit dough. Very tasty and lots of sauce to go around. Reminded me of a very easy chicken and dumpling casserole. Next time i may cut back on the sage a wee bit. I doubled it and thought it was a little strong. However, the rest of the family thought it was great that way and it didnt seem strong to them. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
So good! Here's my variation = Half the bullion (trust us, that's all you'll need) and top with precooked, cubed croissants... broil to toast the topping and serve. Wonderful!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie from Okla.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Yummy! I used canned mushrooms, green beans and cubed potatoes. Increased the cheese and used Bisquick. Everyone liked in my family. The only problem was the biscuits were still doughy after 14 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Biscuits

It's like a cross between chicken pot pie and chicken and dumplings.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

White Cheese Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated 3-cheese white lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States