Chicken Casserole Del Sol Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
We really enjoyed this casserole. I am not too big on casseroles, but I will add this to my list of regualr meals because I enjoyed it so much. If trying this recipe, YOU MUST NOT OMIT THE CURRY! I do not like curry and was very concerned about the flavor, but took a leap of faith and tried it and glad I did. I let many people try this and no one could recognize that there was curry in it - there is just a slight curry flavor but really makes it good. I liked using the french green beans because it was hard to tell they were there since they got lost in the noodles - I loved this because my son was eating veggies and didn't know it. Next time I will add mixed veggies as well as the green beans. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
My family didn't much care for this recipe. I am giving some extra credit for it being different than most other chicken casseroles, but for us the flavor blend just wasn't to our liking. I was glad to try something new, and I did like the fat noodles. I think I might experiment with some other spice combinations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
This was not the best recipe ever, but was very good. I did change some things though. I used bone -in chicken breast, boiled them, and then peeled all the meat off. I used 4 different pasta's. Wheel's, different color spirals, ect... I did not add mushroom (I love them, family does not) I also did not have corn flakes, so I mixed about 2 cups of croutons with the melted butter, and then added about a half cup of dry bread crumbs. (You may need a little more butter) I spread this on top then placed in the over. It added some crunch. I would probably make this on another occasion, but not very often. Thanks! Worth trying though, and yes it makes A LOT, great for a big family, or saving some for lunch the next day (it still tasted good after sitting in the fridge)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEPRINCESS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taylor, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
My family loved this recipe.Served over chinese noodles was very good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Mill City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
Loved it! I followed the recipe, except I used frozen broccoli instead of the green beans. It was a hit with the whole family. I was concerned about the curry, but it was great. It made a ton...about three meals for our family of 2 adults and 2 small children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
This recipe was great, but I only used half a box of pasta, omitted the curry, and added mixed vegetables. It made plenty for dinner, we froze the rest, and when we did eat part I froze, it tasted as if i had made it that day. This recipe is a keeper, and my husband can't wait for me to make it again! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
I always try something if it's four stars and only one or two people didn't like it--and this was the only one of those types of recipies that I actually didn't like. (I almost always like them!) This tasted like...tuna noodle casserole except with chicken. I used broccolli, which I think turned out better than it would have with green beans, but that's just prefrence. I also sauteed the chicken and mushrooms first. It also made a TON...for two really good eaters we had enough left over for tomorrow, some for the freezer...and some for the garbage. (It didn't turn out wonderfully, but I don't waste food!) I won't be making this again, but it wasn't a total waste. Just kind of...so/so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Queensbury, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
Very good, quick and easy! I may add more chicken and cut down on the noodles, also try broccoli in place of the green beans. Overall, everyone in the family liked it - and that in itself is an accomplishment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Ziesemer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Freedom, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
Very delicious! Was nervous about the curry but it was a delightful surprise. I did substitute the green beans for two crowns of steamed broccoli and used fresh sliced baby bella mushrooms in place of the canned mushrooms. Added diced pimentos for color. I used thin sliced boneless chicken breasts, diced and then sauteed them in the juice from the sauteed mushrooms and added all that juice to the sauce mix. oh yeah, I used ruffled pasta in place of the rigatoni since my hubby is a "pasta snob". Will definitely make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
I used frozen veg, sauteed the chicken cubes before adding to the mix and completely omitted the cup of mayonaise and the butter and this turned out great. I also used rice crispies instead of cornflakes (we didn't have any) and although my husband was dubious at first, once he tried it, he loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGAKISES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

Broccoli Chicken Casserole I

See how to make a creamy baked chicken and broccoli casserole.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States