Chicken Cacciatore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
My mom prepaired this basicly the same way. But she used an old Corning, plug in skillet from the 70's. She put in a bit of spinach & a splah of what ever wine was in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
discard the bacon?! What! Lets eat it for breakfast instead! An excellent recipe however I don't prefer the carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
I made this recipe and tasted it. The taste from the balsamic vinegar ruined it. I rinsed off the meat and just added some tomatoes to salvage what I could. I had only used half of balsamic vinegar that was called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FERGIESS

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Good stuff. I added two tomatoes to this(they needed to be used) and cut the Balsamic in half...and I also used red onion (it was what I had on hand). I served it with couscous (also what I had on hand) and it turned out quite tasty if I do say so myself. I was just looking for a way to use some left-over wine...this was a good choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prescott, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
Two sour for the kids, even though I cut the vinegar to about 2/3rd's. Next time, I would reduce the vinegar to about 1/5th. The wife liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
I liked this recipe... i used only a 1/4 cup of vinegar and i chopped up the bacon and added it to the sauce... i also used flour instead of cornstarch to thicken... it turned out great and was quick to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
I thought this was good, but not your traditional chicken cacciatore. I would prefer to call this a sweet and sour chicken since that is what it really tasted like. I found the vinegar to be a little overpowering (and I love balsamic) so I added a touch more brown sugar to offset it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
I liked this recipe but preferred it with the addition of two peeled, seeded tomatos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bohemia, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
This really is a great dish. We really enjoyed it served over rice. The kids enjoyed it as well as my wife's family. I also made it with a homemade jalepeno and cheese french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sean P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
I found this recipe to be very unique. I have never had anything quite like it. The taste is quite rich and complex. I was really amazing that I had cooked something so interesting. The taste was pretty good for me, although I wasn't really able to eat a lot of it. My boyfried found it to be very good. We substituted boneless chicken thighs since that is what we had in the freezer. A nice recipe and a great excuse to buy a bottle of wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

How to Make Chicken Cacciatore

See how to make Chef John’s no-fail "hunter's chicken" recipe.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States