Chicken Cacciatore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
My mom prepaired this basicly the same way. But she used an old Corning, plug in skillet from the 70's. She put in a bit of spinach & a splah of what ever wine was in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
discard the bacon?! What! Lets eat it for breakfast instead! An excellent recipe however I don't prefer the carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
I made this recipe and tasted it. The taste from the balsamic vinegar ruined it. I rinsed off the meat and just added some tomatoes to salvage what I could. I had only used half of balsamic vinegar that was called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FERGIESS

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Good stuff. I added two tomatoes to this(they needed to be used) and cut the Balsamic in half...and I also used red onion (it was what I had on hand). I served it with couscous (also what I had on hand) and it turned out quite tasty if I do say so myself. I was just looking for a way to use some left-over wine...this was a good choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prescott, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
Two sour for the kids, even though I cut the vinegar to about 2/3rd's. Next time, I would reduce the vinegar to about 1/5th. The wife liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
I liked this recipe... i used only a 1/4 cup of vinegar and i chopped up the bacon and added it to the sauce... i also used flour instead of cornstarch to thicken... it turned out great and was quick to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
I thought this was good, but not your traditional chicken cacciatore. I would prefer to call this a sweet and sour chicken since that is what it really tasted like. I found the vinegar to be a little overpowering (and I love balsamic) so I added a touch more brown sugar to offset it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
I liked this recipe but preferred it with the addition of two peeled, seeded tomatos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bohemia, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
This really is a great dish. We really enjoyed it served over rice. The kids enjoyed it as well as my wife's family. I also made it with a homemade jalepeno and cheese french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sean P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
I found this recipe to be very unique. I have never had anything quite like it. The taste is quite rich and complex. I was really amazing that I had cooked something so interesting. The taste was pretty good for me, although I wasn't really able to eat a lot of it. My boyfried found it to be very good. We substituted boneless chicken thighs since that is what we had in the freezer. A nice recipe and a great excuse to buy a bottle of wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

How to Make Chicken Cacciatore

See how to make Chef John’s no-fail "hunter's chicken" recipe.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States