Chicken Broth in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Easy Easy Easy. I love it. I have made this a few different ways. I tried different herbs (rosemary/thyme) because my family doesn't like basil much. I also found this is a great way to extract every ounce of flavor from a chicken or turkey carcass. This also works well with beef bones. YUM! I take the bones and whatever left over meat there is and roast it. Then, I toss it all in the crock pot with the veggies and seasoning and walk away. The flavor and richness of the stock is much better than a canned or boxed version and less salt! I freeze the rest after I skim the fat. It is such a time saver to pull bags of stock from the freezer to add that "home cooked" deep flavor to a dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
I make it slightly different: 1) Use leftover carcass, skin and wings from rotisserie chicken (I prefer lemon pepper chicken or even BBQ chicken for this recipe) 2) In addition to 2 celery sticks, 2 carrots and 1 medium yellow onion (quartered), I add 3-4 whole cloves of garlic, 2 bay leaf, and about 1 tbs of Montreal Chicken seasoning. Skip the basil. 3) I cook it on low overnight, skim all the solids in the morning and leave the stock in the fridge for the day. Skim the remaining fat from the top and it's ready to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I make this about once a week. Instead of using chicken pieces or a whole chicken (well, sometimes i use a whole chicken) I often use the carcass of my roasted chicken to make the broth. I think it gives it a deeper tone. I tend to add broth to my dry dog food as my dogs are picky eaters. They love it, but I also love it because I can add more veggies if I want... and the taste is wonderful. You can mix up the spices and herbs to go with any dish and the cost is pennies compared to what you buy in the store!! I also often save the cooked carrots from the broth to use in my dishes since they have cooked down so well and taste great with the chicken flavoring. In this economy we do what we need to to cut costs, but this recipe is wonderful in any economy since you control what goes into it. I love it!!! Another note... after I strain the broth I often use a fine strainer to catch any little bits. I don't care for those tiny remants in my broth. I also save the carcass and veggie remains to go into my dog food. Since the bones cook so long they are fairly soft and I don't worry about the dogs choking on them ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DitzyDame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Love this recipe! Very easy and delicious! After the broth cooled I shredded the chicken meat and boiled up cheese tortellini and added to the broth! What a great, easy and delicious meal! My family loved it! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
great soup for soup when we were all sick. easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADRIENNE27

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I admit in the past I've been a sucker for things already prepared (like chicken broth) just to make cooking time faster. But with food prices going up, this is a great recipe because you can buy some real cheap cuts of meat. Then make your own broth and the meat can be used for so many inexpensive dishes. And then you can fill all three aspects of making a dish....cheap, flavorful, and healthy. My husband has a theory that only two of these aspects can be filled in one dish. Most of the time he's right but not with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anjilee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Americus, Kansas, USA
Living In: Iuka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This broth was sooo good! It just cooked in the slow cooker all day and then I pulled the chicken right off of it. We did save the breasts, marinated and cooked them separately. We are still using the broth as we freezed most of it. It is perfect in soups! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisapetersen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Mission, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Nice and easy if you don't want to do it on the stovetop
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Walsh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I roasted a chicken for dinner last night, and put all the drippings and the bones of the chicken in the crock pot, along with a whole onion, 4 stalks of celery a handfull of baby carrots and a clove of garlic and some peppercorns and let it stew over night. When I woke up I had a dark, rich, and clear stock, that I poured through a cheese cloth. It turned out fantasticly and tastes SO good. I'm really looking forward to using it with my stuffing for Thanksgiving and gravies and soups. I will use this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BreeAnn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
This is a brilliant idea as it saves the effort of skimming and having to make sure the stock doesn't boil. But the recipe seems to forget a few things - salt, peppercorns, bay leaf, parsley and thyme to name a few. I tripled this recipe as I have the big Kenwood slow cooker and used leftover chicken bones which I keep in the freezer until I have enough to make a batch of stock. Once cooked, I drain and then strain the stock before dividing it into foil containers and freezing for later use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louiselombard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westville, Kwazulu-Natal, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States