Chicken Broth in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Delicious! I used a Rosemary Roasted Chicken Carcass, cooked it longer than stated, and it was flavorful & so good! It was too much basil for me, but it floated to the top & I was able to skim it out. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
I bake the chicken peices, then refrigerate at least a few hours. I like to use breasts or thighs. Then I wash and de-fat the bones as much as i can. Then it goes into the crock for a while in some sort of cooking bag with holes, or small metal collander, along with the bigger thing like carrot, onion and other veggie trash bits. I season as I like and just lift out the container when I'm done cooking. Much easier than chasing bones with a slotted spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toriam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
it was good i made it earily this morning about 4am i added havled onions, bay leafs, celery, carrots it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
This is by far the best recipe for chicken broth. I added celery with leaves, two fresh sage leaves, 2 bay leaves and 1/4 tsp. dried thyme along with the onion. Did not add carrots because it makes the broth too sweet. Refrigerated until the fat on top hardened and then removed. Oh my, the absolute best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Easy and tastes great in soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
This was great! Added a quartered tomato and some extra seasoning and it came out great. I used it in a African Peanut soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madenish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Easy Easy Easy. I love it. I have made this a few different ways. I tried different herbs (rosemary/thyme) because my family doesn't like basil much. I also found this is a great way to extract every ounce of flavor from a chicken or turkey carcass. This also works well with beef bones. YUM! I take the bones and whatever left over meat there is and roast it. Then, I toss it all in the crock pot with the veggies and seasoning and walk away. The flavor and richness of the stock is much better than a canned or boxed version and less salt! I freeze the rest after I skim the fat. It is such a time saver to pull bags of stock from the freezer to add that "home cooked" deep flavor to a dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
I make it slightly different: 1) Use leftover carcass, skin and wings from rotisserie chicken (I prefer lemon pepper chicken or even BBQ chicken for this recipe) 2) In addition to 2 celery sticks, 2 carrots and 1 medium yellow onion (quartered), I add 3-4 whole cloves of garlic, 2 bay leaf, and about 1 tbs of Montreal Chicken seasoning. Skip the basil. 3) I cook it on low overnight, skim all the solids in the morning and leave the stock in the fridge for the day. Skim the remaining fat from the top and it's ready to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I make this about once a week. Instead of using chicken pieces or a whole chicken (well, sometimes i use a whole chicken) I often use the carcass of my roasted chicken to make the broth. I think it gives it a deeper tone. I tend to add broth to my dry dog food as my dogs are picky eaters. They love it, but I also love it because I can add more veggies if I want... and the taste is wonderful. You can mix up the spices and herbs to go with any dish and the cost is pennies compared to what you buy in the store!! I also often save the cooked carrots from the broth to use in my dishes since they have cooked down so well and taste great with the chicken flavoring. In this economy we do what we need to to cut costs, but this recipe is wonderful in any economy since you control what goes into it. I love it!!! Another note... after I strain the broth I often use a fine strainer to catch any little bits. I don't care for those tiny remants in my broth. I also save the carcass and veggie remains to go into my dog food. Since the bones cook so long they are fairly soft and I don't worry about the dogs choking on them ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DitzyDame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Love this recipe! Very easy and delicious! After the broth cooled I shredded the chicken meat and boiled up cheese tortellini and added to the broth! What a great, easy and delicious meal! My family loved it! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States