Chicken Broth in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Excellent recipe! I think one should try to give the recipe an "as is" a before rating so the rating is fair, but since I make chicken broth all the time and in the crock pot I am going to violate my rule. I am dying to try basil in the broth having never tried it before. It should be wonderful and why didn't I think of it myself as it is a natural for chicken? lol! As a tip to others, I buy whole chickens when they are on sale, throw them in the freezer and whenever I need chicken meat for a recipe I cook one in the crock pot. I don't bother thawing, I just remove the outer plastic bag. Also longer cooking concentrates the broth and makes it more flavorful, so those who had problems with flavor could improve it by longer cooking. I usually start mine at night before I go to bed so it is ready to finish when I get up the next morning. I use a large glass to hold a quart freezer bag open while I ladle the broth into it. I do two sizes; a 3 cup and a 1 cup. The one cup is handy for when a recipe only needs a small amount of both. I remove the air from the bags and lay them flat on a cookie sheet. Once they are frozen hard, stand them up on end and put in a shoebox sized plastic basket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Easy way to make salt-free broth! I add a squeeze of lemon a bay leaf and celery seed. I also made it using turkey necks, which I got for 25 cents a pound. I left it cooking overnight, then broke apart the necks with a spoon and left it to cook all day. By evening, all the collagen in the necks had dissolved and the meat had fallen off the bones. Since all the flavor had been extracted from the meat, I fed it to the dog, saving the rich turkey stock for the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I had a leftover carcass from Slow Cooker Turkey Breast on this site, and not wanting to waste, I decided to make turkey broth. My only change (other than halving the recipe) was to replace the basil with parsley. The meat that was left on the carcass just fell off the bone. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Wow! What a great way to make stock (who wouda thunk??!!?)!!! I roasted a chicken last weekend and had a little meat (mostly dark), the carcass and bones leftover. Not wanting to waste any of it, I searched for a recipe to make homemade stock. Since my chicken was 3.75 lb., I used 1.5 x's the equivalents of liquid/veggies/spices called for. As others suggested, I too added my own touches. Instead of basil, I used dried parsley. I also added 1.5 t whole peppercorns and a large bay leaf. Oh, and I cut my veggies into chunks rather than chopping them (much easier to do and takes less time!). I set my slow cooker to cook on low for 9 hours at 6 PM on Sunday evening. My warm setting kicked in around 3 AM (my sc will stay on the warm setting for 4 hours). I am always up by 6 and out the door by 7, so I had an hour to unplug the unit, allow it to cool (so I could handle the chicken without burning myself!), shred the meat / remove the veggies and place my crock insert in the fridge (NEVER put a hot insert in your fridge - it will warm the internal temperature to an unsafe range). When I got home from work, all I had to do was use a spoon to remove the solidified fat and then strain my broth through a fine mesh sieve (you'll need to do this in order to remove large particles). Last night I made homemade chicken rice soup (yum, yum!)! Thanks so much for sharing, Micki. :-) I can't wait to try your recipe using beef and turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
followed as state excellent will not buy canned broth again!!! So easy if you can handle the smell while its cooking over night!!! Thank you for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Britain, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This is a fabulous recipe! And a sure way to get NO SODIUM ADDED broth. Flavor was excellent (I've tried combinations of parsley, basil, tarragon & poultry seasoning). And you certainly can't beat the minimal effort required! I also used a rotisserie carcass as suggested in another review w/ excellent results. Thanks for sharing & thanks for the suggestions in the reviews! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This is an easy way to make stock. Wish I had a bigger cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macomb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
My broth came out more around a 3 star, but I have a feeling that was because I added too much liquid. However, with a bit of bouillon this is definitely 4 star. I think it could be 5 star if left to cook even longer. I used a whole fryer chicken (raw), an onion, 2 carrots (I would omit these next time- the broth came out a bit sweet), 3 celery stalks, 1/2 tspn of basil, a pinch of dried thyme, and salt/pepper. I used about 6 cups of water and 2 cups of store bought chicken broth that I had in the fridge (this brought the liquid line to about 3/4 up the chicken). After 8 hours of cooking though I had to give in and add 1 tspn of bullion (granted, this is not a ton, equivalent of 1 cup of bought broth). I'm not sure if the problem was with the chicken or liquid amounts, but with just that one tspn of bullion the broth is extremely flavorful and rich. We're making chicken and dumplings out of it in about an hour and looking forward to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoreleiLee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
very good chicken stock with not much work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I followed JCL's suggestions which included using a leftover chicken carcass/pan juices, adding 4 cloves of garlic and 2 bay leaves, and skipping the basil. I also added 1 t of salt and used 8 C of water. I like that this way lets you use every bit of the chicken. The carcass I had was leftover from the Roast Sticky Rotisserie Chicken recipe on this site (try it, you won't be disappointed). I threw everything in the slow cooker, cooked overnight on low, strained and refrigerated the next morning, then skimmed off the fat in the evening. Presto - delicious chicken broth that practically made itself while I was doing other things!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States