Chicken Broth in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I have never made my own chicken broth! It was so good. Used it in another recipe on this site for chicken noodle soup. My husband can't have any chicken unless it is completely hormone and antibioty free (allergies) - we use Gerber's. He said this is the first time he had chicken soup in like 27 years! Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
So easy and gives you both the chicken broth and cooked chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Great Keeper Recipe!!! Use rotisserie chicken carcass and veggies. Strained and removed bones. Yielded me 6 cups of nice rich dark broth to use in recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jayashiangel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Branch, Michigan, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
All the people "skimming off the fat" why even bother - just buy the fat free garbage at the store. I make this recipe because the fat is where all the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AFvet6871

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waupaca, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
So easy and so much better than canned. Left out the carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I've used this recipe several times, but sometimes I do it on the stovetop. Makes great homemade broth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This was great. I used a chicken carcass from my Costco rotisserie and did half broth half water for more flavor. Super easy and made for a richer tasting chicken noodle soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leilana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
GREAT! I actually came home with a package of turkey legs so that I could do this for a pot of enchilada soup. Super easy, all I did was just throw everything in the slow cooker at quarter to ten last night and wa-la, it was done the next morning. I had my homemade broth AND meat for my soup. Best recipe EVER. NOTE: I would suggest you add chopped fresh garlic and some salt/pepper and maybe a bay leaf or two if you want more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I have made this a few times and it is an easy way to make healthy chicken broth. After doing a little bit of research, I have done a couple things differently. First, let you chicken carcass (I fix a roasted chicken an then we eat it and I just use the bones) sit in 6 COLD cups of water with 1-2 tablespoons of vinegar, this helps draw the nutrients and minerals out of the bones. Also, I don't bother to do much chopping of the vegetables since they will be strained out. I cook on low for 12-24 hours. Then I put in the fridge to cool and then I divide into bags to freeze for later use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Turned out good. I didn't have basil so I used thyme as suggested by some reviewers and a bay leaf. Will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diamonde

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States