Chicken Broth in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
This is always my 'go to' recipe for making soup stock after a big Thanksgiving dinner. I'm looking forward to making it again this weekend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Button

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Awesome, I've used this method several times now and it's always perfect. I prefer to use Thyme in place of the basil and after removing chicken and straining, I put it in the fridge so I can later strain the fat. Also, if you make too much, you can measure out 2 cups, put it in a small ziplock, freeze flat on a cookie sheet and store conveniently in tupperware in your freezer for later use. Love this recipe/method!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janasue1459

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
I have always been nervous about making broth. This is the best!! Thank you AR!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Wonderful and easy. I used chicken thighs. After about 4 hours I removed the chicken and skin and returned the bones to the broth. Then after pouring thru cheesecloth I refrigerated overnight so I could remove the fat before freezing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aunt Ree

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I love the taste and use of a slow cooker. The basil gives it a nice subtle flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by walker449@aol.com

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
This was super easy and very tasty; I give it 4.5 stars. To get to 5 star status, strain and pour broth into saucepan. Add diced carrots and celery (and chicken, if you like), along with about 1/2 tsp of tumeric for color and flavor. Simmer about 15 min, seasoning for taste, to deepen and intensify flavors. A surprisingly delicious outcome without much effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I'm giving this four stars to start. I made the recipe exactly as stated and I think I would prefer some of the other spice combinations instead of the basil in the recipe. Also, I started out with six cups of water and ended with about 3 1/2 cups of broth. Not sure why I lost so much liquid. Maybe the lid on my crock pot isn't very secure. Anyhow, next time I will try it with thyme, garlic, pepper, and a bit of salt instead of the basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Very easy to make. I used fresh parsley instead of the dried basil. Used the broth for a soup recipe also from allrecipes. Its great to make my own broth and not used store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kasia777
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I have used a recipe like this for years and everyone always wants to know what makes it so good. I use bay leaf insteat of basil and I add some whole cloves. The cloves seem to be the secret ingredient that no one would think to add and when I tell them they always say but I don't really like cloves and particularly not with chicken. I do not add enough to make it overpowering, probably about six or seven, just depends on how much broth I am making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I make this with the bones from a rotisserie chicken carcass and strain it with a mesh strainer to get all the teeny bones out. Doesn't even need any seasoning, just water. Then I freeze it in ice cube trays. Fab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States