Chicken Broth in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I love the taste and use of a slow cooker. The basil gives it a nice subtle flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by walker449@aol.com

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
This was super easy and very tasty; I give it 4.5 stars. To get to 5 star status, strain and pour broth into saucepan. Add diced carrots and celery (and chicken, if you like), along with about 1/2 tsp of tumeric for color and flavor. Simmer about 15 min, seasoning for taste, to deepen and intensify flavors. A surprisingly delicious outcome without much effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I'm giving this four stars to start. I made the recipe exactly as stated and I think I would prefer some of the other spice combinations instead of the basil in the recipe. Also, I started out with six cups of water and ended with about 3 1/2 cups of broth. Not sure why I lost so much liquid. Maybe the lid on my crock pot isn't very secure. Anyhow, next time I will try it with thyme, garlic, pepper, and a bit of salt instead of the basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Very easy to make. I used fresh parsley instead of the dried basil. Used the broth for a soup recipe also from allrecipes. Its great to make my own broth and not used store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kasia777
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I have used a recipe like this for years and everyone always wants to know what makes it so good. I use bay leaf insteat of basil and I add some whole cloves. The cloves seem to be the secret ingredient that no one would think to add and when I tell them they always say but I don't really like cloves and particularly not with chicken. I do not add enough to make it overpowering, probably about six or seven, just depends on how much broth I am making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I make this with the bones from a rotisserie chicken carcass and strain it with a mesh strainer to get all the teeny bones out. Doesn't even need any seasoning, just water. Then I freeze it in ice cube trays. Fab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
It's best to use chicken bones from a store bought rotisserie chicken that you used for a previous meal. There's a deeper flavor to the broth that way. If you leave out the veggies from the slow cooker and just use the chicken, you can add those lovely vegetables after the broth has been cooled, refrigerated and all the coagulated fat removed. Then you have soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay Hodges

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Genius! Why didn't I ever think of this??!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Easy, and a great way to use up some left over chicken pieces, but I actually think it needed a little bit of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
I definitely will be making this again especially when I have a chicken carcass. My first try was with roasted drumsticks and because of my mistake didn't turn out well but the concept is solid. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States