Chicken Broth in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2004
Micki, thanks. I'm new to crock pot cooking. This is such a grand idea because I so much prefer home made stock to canned or ugh cubes. I left out basil, didn't peel onion. Peel gives a little darker color. I put broth in refrig., discarded fat, then put into ice cube tray, froze then placed cubes into freezer bag. Have easy home made on demand. Much easier than old way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
Good base recipe. Instead of dried basil, I used fresh herbs from the garden...handfuls of rosemary, basil, marjoram, and sage. Very nicely scented & flavored. Good way to get both your stock & chicken at once. The chicken was very tender. I used a whole fryer & cut it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2004
I've used this many times. Very simple broth to use for a great soup base. I use this ALWAYS to make my Matza Ball soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Melrose, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2004
This was really easy. My chicken pieces tasted like basil afterward. I cut them up and will use them in soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2004
Couldn't be easier. I used 6 thighs. Added some garlic powder and pepper. Cooked overnight on low for 9 hours. Made wonderful chicken soup with the chicken and broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Misawa, Aomori, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2004
Wonderful and easy. I cooked this overnight. In the morning I strained the broth through a collander lined with a paper towel. I then deboned the chicken (what was left of the bones...it basically just fell off). I added poultry seasoning to the recipe. I am using the broth to make a chicken soup since we are under the weather. Remember when using homemade chicken broth to add salt to soup recipes as they usually call for canned broth which is usually already salted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
I thought this was just ok. Way too much basil. Nice to make it in the slow cooker and forget about it, but not as convenient as just opening a can!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
I actually made this over the stove. To make a dark and richer broth, I used chicken wings and braised them in the pan first, then I added everything in and let it simmer for about 2 hrs. I also threw in cilantro and a few bay leaves. Used the stock to make chicken noodle soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2003
I love this EASY recipe. No watching the stove, everything in the crock pot. I cooked it overnight. I used chicken thighs and because my herb garden is still thriving I added whole sprigs of parsley, tyme and basil. Then some dried chicken seasoning, salt and pepper and Dean and DeLuca's fine herbs. I remove chicken with slotted spoon and strain the broth thru a fine strainer. Then use or freeze. Thanks for the easy and delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
This was good after I added peppercorns, garlic & chicken boullion. I LOVED the ease of the crockpot, but it was a little on the bland side. I used a left over oven roaster with wings & some breast meat and added 3 legs so maybe that was why. After I spruced it up a bit it was very good. Thanks Micki.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States