Chicken Broth in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2004
Couldn't be easier. I used 6 thighs. Added some garlic powder and pepper. Cooked overnight on low for 9 hours. Made wonderful chicken soup with the chicken and broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Misawa, Aomori, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2004
Wonderful and easy. I cooked this overnight. In the morning I strained the broth through a collander lined with a paper towel. I then deboned the chicken (what was left of the bones...it basically just fell off). I added poultry seasoning to the recipe. I am using the broth to make a chicken soup since we are under the weather. Remember when using homemade chicken broth to add salt to soup recipes as they usually call for canned broth which is usually already salted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
I thought this was just ok. Way too much basil. Nice to make it in the slow cooker and forget about it, but not as convenient as just opening a can!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
I actually made this over the stove. To make a dark and richer broth, I used chicken wings and braised them in the pan first, then I added everything in and let it simmer for about 2 hrs. I also threw in cilantro and a few bay leaves. Used the stock to make chicken noodle soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2003
I love this EASY recipe. No watching the stove, everything in the crock pot. I cooked it overnight. I used chicken thighs and because my herb garden is still thriving I added whole sprigs of parsley, tyme and basil. Then some dried chicken seasoning, salt and pepper and Dean and DeLuca's fine herbs. I remove chicken with slotted spoon and strain the broth thru a fine strainer. Then use or freeze. Thanks for the easy and delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
This was good after I added peppercorns, garlic & chicken boullion. I LOVED the ease of the crockpot, but it was a little on the bland side. I used a left over oven roaster with wings & some breast meat and added 3 legs so maybe that was why. After I spruced it up a bit it was very good. Thanks Micki.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
Very delicious and easy to make. I used this recipe with the leftover bones from the Thanksgiving Turkey which had very little meat on them and it was still very flavorful broth. This is an excellent use for the crock pot. This will be made again and again. My husband enjoyed it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
Very good. The meat fell right off the bones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
a wonderful idea to have a meal and make chicke broth at the same time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
I made many batches of this wonderful broth when the recipe was posted. I filled 1/2 gallon size freezer bags with the strained broth and put them in the freezer. This fall, I have already made two WONDERFUL home-made 'chicken noodle' and 'chicken, vegtable and rice' soups in the crock pot, with this broth as my base. I can't wait to make more for the freezer and upcoming winter months!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovemyfamily09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States