Chicken Broth in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
love the idea of making stock in a slow cooker. i never thought i'd make my own stock until i stumpled upon this recipe. this is a great fuss-free recipe. i cooked it overnight for 10 hours and i ended up with a clear rich stock. i omitted the basil and instead used thyme, parsley, bay leaves, peppercorns and a pinch of nutmeg. i added some salt at the end to taste. after i strained it i left it in the fridge to cool and scooped off the fat on top. will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
micki thanks for the great recipe! this is the best way to make chicken broth!!! no skimming:-) i have made it about three/four times. i played around with using different cuts of chicken and i feel chicken thighs and wings work the best. the dark meat held up to the long cooking time. i don't like dried basil, instead i used a bit of fresh thyme, one bay leaf, one tsp of black peppercorns (don't use gourmet blend - way to peppery). fyi - the last batch of broth i made, i deboned the chicken after 4 hours. i put the bones back in for the last 4 hours and the broth came out more rich and thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
280 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSW00DY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Living In: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
I want to give this a good review but my broth came out wierd tasting. I really like the ease of the slow cooker. I took some others advice and added fresh herbs and peppercorns..I think I will do it plain next time. Hopefully, I'll get better results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BajaValle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2004
Micki, thanks. I'm new to crock pot cooking. This is such a grand idea because I so much prefer home made stock to canned or ugh cubes. I left out basil, didn't peel onion. Peel gives a little darker color. I put broth in refrig., discarded fat, then put into ice cube tray, froze then placed cubes into freezer bag. Have easy home made on demand. Much easier than old way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
Good base recipe. Instead of dried basil, I used fresh herbs from the garden...handfuls of rosemary, basil, marjoram, and sage. Very nicely scented & flavored. Good way to get both your stock & chicken at once. The chicken was very tender. I used a whole fryer & cut it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2004
I've used this many times. Very simple broth to use for a great soup base. I use this ALWAYS to make my Matza Ball soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Melrose, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2004
This was really easy. My chicken pieces tasted like basil afterward. I cut them up and will use them in soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2004
Couldn't be easier. I used 6 thighs. Added some garlic powder and pepper. Cooked overnight on low for 9 hours. Made wonderful chicken soup with the chicken and broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Misawa, Aomori, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2004
Wonderful and easy. I cooked this overnight. In the morning I strained the broth through a collander lined with a paper towel. I then deboned the chicken (what was left of the bones...it basically just fell off). I added poultry seasoning to the recipe. I am using the broth to make a chicken soup since we are under the weather. Remember when using homemade chicken broth to add salt to soup recipes as they usually call for canned broth which is usually already salted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
I thought this was just ok. Way too much basil. Nice to make it in the slow cooker and forget about it, but not as convenient as just opening a can!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States