Chicken Broth in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
Wonderful! I didn't have basil, so I just used Italian Spice blend and about 7-8 whole peppercorns. It was delightful! I cut the veggies up the night before and threw everything in the slow cooker before I left for work. When we walked through the door in the evening, my 2 year old said, "Mmmm...Mommy, it smells yummy!" I will definitely use this over and over. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
This turned out very well for me. The only changes I made to the basic recipe were adding in a few additional Italian spices, such as rosemary, marjoram and thyme in addition to the basil. Also, I used only the leftover carcass of a chicken I had brined and roasted the day before. The result was very flavorful, and I can’t wait to use it in my next dish. I love how incredibly convenient and easy this recipe is – I also did the overnight method. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
very good but doesn't make a lot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forest Hill, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
This recipe has become my staple for broth. I like to freeze it in portions of 1&3/4cups(equivalent to one can). The chicken is perfect to use right away in a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrianneS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
Great way to reduce sodium for soups, stews etc. This is the second chicken broth recipe that I found on this site and they are both great. Thanks for the alternative to store bought which is very high in sodium and fat. These also freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
I used a chicken carcass for this and it was great! After straining, I left it in the fridge so I could skim the fat off when cooled and then poured it into freezer containers. It isn't the same golden colour as the bought stuff, but it tastes so much better. How nice to have fresh chicken stock on hand at all times instead of buying it! I'm going to give this a try with beef bones as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
I have made this recipe a few times now and have followed suggestions regarding spices to add by other reviewers. The broth turned out wonderful each time though the first couple of times I only made soups with it. I liked the original version best for making other recipes with the chicken, except that I substituted dried parlsey for basil. After cooking it all day, I strained the vegetables and left the broth with the chicken in it in the refrigerator overnight. The next day, I skimmed the fat, cut up the meat and strained the broth through a sieve lined with a paper towel. Half of the broth will be used with some of the chicken in soup and I froze the other half to make the Oriental Shrimp Noodle soup, also on this site. I also made Angel's Chunky Chicken Salad and chicken burritos using Salsa Chicken Burrito filling, both recipes on this site, and both yummy. Four different meals from one recipe gives me a little variety, as I'm cooking for two. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb1970

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hannover, Niedersachsen, Germany
Living In: Orland Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
By far the easiest and tastiest way to make soup broth. Especially easy after a big dinner, just throw a carcass into the crockpot, add vegetables & water and forget it until morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
This was so easy to make. I used the broth as the base for a vegetable soup and my husband said it was the best soup he ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
This couldn't get any easier; just throw it in there and forget about it. The only modifications I made were omitting the basil and adding dried thyme instead. I also added some chicken soup base (powdered boullion) and of course, salt/fresh cracked pepper. Wonderful flavor and clear broth. Great suggestion from another reviewer to strain in collander lined with papertowel instead of a cheesecloth. I didn't even bother to peel the onions, nor cut the carrots and celery; just broke them in half and threw them in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States