Chicken Broth in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
Very good. I used onion, carrot and celery (with the celery leaves still on) plus parsley (NOT basil). Also used a whole 3.5 pound chicken. The stock made a delicious soup. Wouldn't change anything with the exception of the basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BroncosFan
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
Way, way too much basil. I will cut down drastically or eliminate next time. To be honest, the smell of the chicken cooking really grossed me out. But it works like a charm, it was super easy. Because I was so grossed out the broth sat in my fridge for a bit before I used it, which was OK as I was able to skim off the fat. I did not reuse the chicken from it as it tasted weird from the basil. Next time I make this I am going to freeze it so I have time to get over the smell :) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I absolutely LOVED this! I doubled the recipe and used a whole cut up chicken. I added a little...three cloves garlic cut in half, and I used Basil, Rosemary and Thyme. This was just perfect and I will use this probably the rest of my life... oh and thanks to the person who suggested using a strainer with a paper towel instead of cheesecloth...it worked fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Oxford, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
I used a 4 pound chicken that had already been cooked in the oven for hours, and picked over for dinner. There was still a lot of meat left on the bones. I put it all in the crock pot, but shyed away from the basil as I'm not a fan and there were many comments on the weird flavor it gave. I ended up wishing I'd replaced it with something else, but I'm not sure what. I added approximately 10 cups of water. I strained the broth through a mesh strainer lined with paper towels (AFTER the picture, darn!) and ended up with 3 1/2 pints of broth. The crock pot method was excellent and so easy, I will use this method again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
I am giving this 5 stars because it's a great method! I'm also sure the broth would be good without any changes as well. I made this using a leftover rotisserie chicken carcass I got from a supermarket. There was still a lot of meat on the bones (and seasoning from the rotisserie). I did 8 cups of water, only 1 tsp of basil (due to other seasoning), and added garlic, some peppercorns and fresh parsley. I also included some of the celery leaves. I strained it by using a strainer lined with white paper towels. It ended up giving me a little over 4 cups of broth (I probably should have pressed the veggies to get more broth.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
I gave it 4 stars only because I made some changes. I used chicken thighs, a quartered onion, 3 carrots and celery ribs cut in half, and during last 2 hours of cooking added a bay leaf, 8-9 peppercorns, 1/2 clove of garlic, handfull or fresh parsley, about a tablespoon of poultry seasoning. Drained and will use the chicken tonight with pasta dish. Much easier way to make broth, you don't have to worry about it boiling and the chicken scum absorbing itself into the broth. After reading other reviews I didn't add basil, not sure why it is needed unless you want to make something with basil flavor broth ;) Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
I also used a chicken carcass to make this (I do this all the time now after making a roasted chicken) I followed the other reviewer and freeze it in 1 and 3/4 cup packets. This smells so good and the broth is so much better than the canned stuff...thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sanford, Florida, USA
Living In: West Haven, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
So easy and simple. The only way to make turkey or chicken broth for me. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grangeville, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
I used about 4 lbs. of chicken backs instead of meaty pieces. I didn't use the carrots because I think they make the broth too sweet tasting. I froze the broth in 1 3/4 cup servings=i can chicken broth. Very good. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicky Bakaitis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
Good!~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States