Chicken Broth in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
I saw a great tip on Sara's Secrets. When making chicken wings, save the wing tips in a baggie. When you go to make stock use them as well. All that bone adds gelatin to the stock and makes it full and rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I havn't tried this recipe yet but it looks good. my tips on a chicken broth is use as much bone as you can. the geletin from the bone will give it a richer flavor and a better thicher body. also the best way ive found to store chicken broth or any broth is to fill ice cube trays with the broth, freeze it, then put cubes in a freezer bag. that way when you get it back out you can use as many as you need such as 10 for a personal chicken noodle soup. hope that was helpful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chase

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
Really good! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
Good and super easy! I make a fabulous chicken noodle soup, so I personalized this broth with spices I like in the soup: a little ginger, celery salt, bay leaves, and lots of pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
I've never made my own chicken broth before, but after looking at what goes into a bullion cube or canned broth I decided to give it a try. I was quite pleased. I did make some changes. I used a left-over roasted chicken carcass and switched the 1 tbs of basil to 1 heaping tbs of parsley and did 7 instead of 6 cups of water. Cooked it on Low overnight for about 10 hours and disposed of all the vegetables and the carcass. It came out richly colored and tasted pretty good. And it smelled WONDERFUL cooking. I'm waiting for it to cool a bit then I plan to divy it up into 1 3/4 servings and freeze in freezer bags. No more bullion for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buckhannon, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
Very good. I used onion, carrot and celery (with the celery leaves still on) plus parsley (NOT basil). Also used a whole 3.5 pound chicken. The stock made a delicious soup. Wouldn't change anything with the exception of the basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BroncosFan
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
Way, way too much basil. I will cut down drastically or eliminate next time. To be honest, the smell of the chicken cooking really grossed me out. But it works like a charm, it was super easy. Because I was so grossed out the broth sat in my fridge for a bit before I used it, which was OK as I was able to skim off the fat. I did not reuse the chicken from it as it tasted weird from the basil. Next time I make this I am going to freeze it so I have time to get over the smell :) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I absolutely LOVED this! I doubled the recipe and used a whole cut up chicken. I added a little...three cloves garlic cut in half, and I used Basil, Rosemary and Thyme. This was just perfect and I will use this probably the rest of my life... oh and thanks to the person who suggested using a strainer with a paper towel instead of cheesecloth...it worked fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Oxford, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
I used a 4 pound chicken that had already been cooked in the oven for hours, and picked over for dinner. There was still a lot of meat left on the bones. I put it all in the crock pot, but shyed away from the basil as I'm not a fan and there were many comments on the weird flavor it gave. I ended up wishing I'd replaced it with something else, but I'm not sure what. I added approximately 10 cups of water. I strained the broth through a mesh strainer lined with paper towels (AFTER the picture, darn!) and ended up with 3 1/2 pints of broth. The crock pot method was excellent and so easy, I will use this method again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
I am giving this 5 stars because it's a great method! I'm also sure the broth would be good without any changes as well. I made this using a leftover rotisserie chicken carcass I got from a supermarket. There was still a lot of meat on the bones (and seasoning from the rotisserie). I did 8 cups of water, only 1 tsp of basil (due to other seasoning), and added garlic, some peppercorns and fresh parsley. I also included some of the celery leaves. I strained it by using a strainer lined with white paper towels. It ended up giving me a little over 4 cups of broth (I probably should have pressed the veggies to get more broth.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States