Chicken Broth in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
Would be five stars, but there's an omission in the recipe... the ingredient list states water, but the instructions don't mention it. Don't forget to add the water! Good basic recipe otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cherokee901

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
this was really easy. i just used the carcass from a whole chicken and added everything to slow cooker the night before and strained the broth in the morning before work. then i refridgerated the broth all day and skimmed off the congealed fat from the top and froze in 1 c size portions. will probably stick to my own recipe for slow cooker broth since i typically use more spices and it is much more flavorful. but this is a good base if you have never made slow cooker broth and need a guideline.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
This was so easy, I plan to use it over and over. I substituted dried parsley instead of using basil because that's what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
Very good and easy broth recipe. I added a bay leaf and some peppercorns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
This is my first time making chicken broth and my second time using my slow cooker. I bought a "soup" veggie pack from the store that had turnips, parsnips, leeks, carrots, onion, celery, dill and parsley all in the package chopped it up and threw it all in with a thigh, wing and drumstick pack it smells and tastes amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Setauket, New York, USA
Living In: Patchogue, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
I really like this method for making broth. It was very flavorful and YOU get to control how much salt is in it. I bought a 5 pound chicken, cut up, and divided it between two slow cookers to make a double batch. I used half to make soup and froze the other half. I froze the chicken meat to use later in a soup or casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Bloomfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I used chicken thighs only, for deeper flavor. About halfway through, I removed the skin & meat from the bones and returned the bones to the crockpot. After it was done, I placed the broth in the fridge overnight so that the fat could rise to the top, solidify, and I could just lift it off. Worked great. Used some, then jarred up the rest and froze it. Homemade chicken stock is so flavorful, and better yet, I can control the seasonings, especially salt that is so prevalent in the store-bought stuff! Thanks so much, Micki!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
This is the first time I have been compelled to write a review but this time I had to share my thoughts. I have tried many times to make chicken broth the old fashioned way in a stockpot on the stove. Always with dissapointing results - not enough flavor, had to add bouillon (which is exactly what I wanted to avoid). I put all of my ingredients in the crock pot in the evening, let it simmer on low all night. Removed the meat and threw the bones back in and let it simmer until noon. MY OH MY!! It looks, smells and tastes out of this world! My only regret now is that I don't have a bigger crockpot so I can make this stuff by the gallon. Update - after writing this review I started thinking and thought - why not use my roaster?? Works great and I can make a LOT at once. (means less clean up). You just have to adjust the temp to keep a slow simmer. Also, I have tried straining with a colander lined with cheesecloth, clarifying with egg shell and white, but I think the best method is to line a colander with a tea towel. Because it strains very well, you may have to stop and rinse out the towel during the process but it does a beautiful job.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wapello, Iowa, USA
Living In: Shenandoah, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
I saw a great tip on Sara's Secrets. When making chicken wings, save the wing tips in a baggie. When you go to make stock use them as well. All that bone adds gelatin to the stock and makes it full and rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I havn't tried this recipe yet but it looks good. my tips on a chicken broth is use as much bone as you can. the geletin from the bone will give it a richer flavor and a better thicher body. also the best way ive found to store chicken broth or any broth is to fill ice cube trays with the broth, freeze it, then put cubes in a freezer bag. that way when you get it back out you can use as many as you need such as 10 for a personal chicken noodle soup. hope that was helpful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chase

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States