Chicken Broth in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Love this recipe! Very easy and delicious! After the broth cooled I shredded the chicken meat and boiled up cheese tortellini and added to the broth! What a great, easy and delicious meal! My family loved it! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
great soup for soup when we were all sick. easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADRIENNE27

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I admit in the past I've been a sucker for things already prepared (like chicken broth) just to make cooking time faster. But with food prices going up, this is a great recipe because you can buy some real cheap cuts of meat. Then make your own broth and the meat can be used for so many inexpensive dishes. And then you can fill all three aspects of making a dish....cheap, flavorful, and healthy. My husband has a theory that only two of these aspects can be filled in one dish. Most of the time he's right but not with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anjilee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Americus, Kansas, USA
Living In: Iuka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This broth was sooo good! It just cooked in the slow cooker all day and then I pulled the chicken right off of it. We did save the breasts, marinated and cooked them separately. We are still using the broth as we freezed most of it. It is perfect in soups! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisapetersen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Mission, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Nice and easy if you don't want to do it on the stovetop
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I roasted a chicken for dinner last night, and put all the drippings and the bones of the chicken in the crock pot, along with a whole onion, 4 stalks of celery a handfull of baby carrots and a clove of garlic and some peppercorns and let it stew over night. When I woke up I had a dark, rich, and clear stock, that I poured through a cheese cloth. It turned out fantasticly and tastes SO good. I'm really looking forward to using it with my stuffing for Thanksgiving and gravies and soups. I will use this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BreeAnn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
This is a brilliant idea as it saves the effort of skimming and having to make sure the stock doesn't boil. But the recipe seems to forget a few things - salt, peppercorns, bay leaf, parsley and thyme to name a few. I tripled this recipe as I have the big Kenwood slow cooker and used leftover chicken bones which I keep in the freezer until I have enough to make a batch of stock. Once cooked, I drain and then strain the stock before dividing it into foil containers and freezing for later use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louiselombard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westville, Kwazulu-Natal, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
I followed the recipe using chicken thighs (what I had on hand) and just added more spices; cinnamon, thyme, parsley, bay leaves, nutmeg, rosemary, majoram and sage. I'm not sure if it was the thighs, but the flavor was not there at all when I finally made the soup. I am not giving up on this recipe, I am going to try this with other chicken parts and see what happens. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daisy Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
this recipe is pretty much fool proof! I didn't follow it exact at all and i was still able to get a very yummy chicken noodle soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
So I used a rotisserie chicken for the market and followed the recipe exactly except that I didn't have any celery, so I left that out. When it was finished I discarded all the chicken and veggies and I put the broth into a container and put into the fridge. The next day I took it out expecting the layer of fat to be at the top, but when I went to look it, the broth was all congealed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama to JRG

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 81-90 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States