Chicken Broth in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Great Keeper Recipe!!! Use rotisserie chicken carcass and veggies. Strained and removed bones. Yielded me 6 cups of nice rich dark broth to use in recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jayashiangel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Branch, Michigan, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
All the people "skimming off the fat" why even bother - just buy the fat free garbage at the store. I make this recipe because the fat is where all the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AFvet6871

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waupaca, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
So easy and so much better than canned. Left out the carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I've used this recipe several times, but sometimes I do it on the stovetop. Makes great homemade broth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This was great. I used a chicken carcass from my Costco rotisserie and did half broth half water for more flavor. Super easy and made for a richer tasting chicken noodle soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leilana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
GREAT! I actually came home with a package of turkey legs so that I could do this for a pot of enchilada soup. Super easy, all I did was just throw everything in the slow cooker at quarter to ten last night and wa-la, it was done the next morning. I had my homemade broth AND meat for my soup. Best recipe EVER. NOTE: I would suggest you add chopped fresh garlic and some salt/pepper and maybe a bay leaf or two if you want more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I have made this a few times and it is an easy way to make healthy chicken broth. After doing a little bit of research, I have done a couple things differently. First, let you chicken carcass (I fix a roasted chicken an then we eat it and I just use the bones) sit in 6 COLD cups of water with 1-2 tablespoons of vinegar, this helps draw the nutrients and minerals out of the bones. Also, I don't bother to do much chopping of the vegetables since they will be strained out. I cook on low for 12-24 hours. Then I put in the fridge to cool and then I divide into bags to freeze for later use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Turned out good. I didn't have basil so I used thyme as suggested by some reviewers and a bay leaf. Will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diamonde

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
I made this a while back with a chicken carcass, and it was quick and easy, but my husband just recently used the frozen chicken stock to make a vegetable soup. It turned out really great - no surprises what is in this, just delicious, good for you ingredients. Highly recommended way to make stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Easy and makes the house smell wonderful!! Sometimes add some extra herbs too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIS1172

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hambden Township, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States