Chicken Broth in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
It's best to use chicken bones from a store bought rotisserie chicken that you used for a previous meal. There's a deeper flavor to the broth that way. If you leave out the veggies from the slow cooker and just use the chicken, you can add those lovely vegetables after the broth has been cooled, refrigerated and all the coagulated fat removed. Then you have soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay Hodges

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Genius! Why didn't I ever think of this??!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Easy, and a great way to use up some left over chicken pieces, but I actually think it needed a little bit of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
I definitely will be making this again especially when I have a chicken carcass. My first try was with roasted drumsticks and because of my mistake didn't turn out well but the concept is solid. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Wow.....I was surprised when I opened the lid after cooking what a rich, dark broth I had. This is really the way to go when you dont want to babysit a pot on the stove all day. I used a carcass from a small store bought roaster chicken, I also added 8 instead of 6 cups of water, and I added some dried thyme which we love the flavor of in addition to all of the other recipe ingredients. Also added some sea salt and pepper to taste. Great recipe...will most definately make this again since I love slow cooker recipes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Wonderful stock - and so easy anyone could do it. We love parsley, so I subbed parsley for the basil, and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Since I only had the carcass of a small rotisserie chicken, I dropped the water down to only 4 cups and cooked it on low for 10 hours. Unfortunately, I only ended up with a measly half cup of broth! If anyone knows why, please let me know! Maybe I kept it in the slow cooker too long??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
i made this and used it in soups and other meals i canned the left over and use it as needed very easy and good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alesia batz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Algonac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Made this with the carcass from a roasted ckn. Took the meat off the bones & set it aside for when I make ckn noodle soup. Also I sauteed the celery, carrots, onion & garlic before adding to crock pot. Roasted ckn carcasses have so much more flavor. I ordered an electric pressure cooker from wolfgang puck& am looking forward to make this in the pressure cooker. I'll keep you posted. 03/12/12 Pressure cooker is wonderful. 45 minutes & it's done. It would probably have been done in 30, but I'm always trying to get the most flavor out of that ckn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States