Chicken Broth in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
So I used a rotisserie chicken for the market and followed the recipe exactly except that I didn't have any celery, so I left that out. When it was finished I discarded all the chicken and veggies and I put the broth into a container and put into the fridge. The next day I took it out expecting the layer of fat to be at the top, but when I went to look it, the broth was all congealed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama to JRG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
This was the yummiest broth I've had in years. I used chicken wings. I doubled the recipe, so I was left with a lot of chicken. I used whatever meat came off the bones for the chicken soup. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
I liked the recipe a lot but I like the changes I made better. I cut the basil by half. Instead of just any chicken I used the carcass of a Safeway Roasted Chicken with the breasts, wings and thighs removed for other uses. I'm not a big chicken leg fan so I do add them to the broth. I also like seasoned broth so I add a teaspoon of McCormick Roasting Rub, Savory Herb blend, after the fat has been removed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathyF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sequim, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
I will do my soup in the slow cooker from now on...set and forget! I replaced the basil with a bay leaf and added salt, parsley and peppercorns. Allow me to let you in on a little secret....a tiny dash of ground cinnamon and a solid cube of parmesan or romano cheese makes my soup come to life. I also boil my pastina noodles separately so that you can guess more accurately how many noodles you'll need. Just add the cooked noodles to the soup and you'll have the right amount when you see it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
Would be five stars, but there's an omission in the recipe... the ingredient list states water, but the instructions don't mention it. Don't forget to add the water! Good basic recipe otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jesse Blackwood

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
this was really easy. i just used the carcass from a whole chicken and added everything to slow cooker the night before and strained the broth in the morning before work. then i refridgerated the broth all day and skimmed off the congealed fat from the top and froze in 1 c size portions. will probably stick to my own recipe for slow cooker broth since i typically use more spices and it is much more flavorful. but this is a good base if you have never made slow cooker broth and need a guideline.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
This was so easy, I plan to use it over and over. I substituted dried parsley instead of using basil because that's what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
Very good and easy broth recipe. I added a bay leaf and some peppercorns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
This is my first time making chicken broth and my second time using my slow cooker. I bought a "soup" veggie pack from the store that had turnips, parsnips, leeks, carrots, onion, celery, dill and parsley all in the package chopped it up and threw it all in with a thigh, wing and drumstick pack it smells and tastes amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Setauket, New York, USA
Living In: Patchogue, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
I really like this method for making broth. It was very flavorful and YOU get to control how much salt is in it. I bought a 5 pound chicken, cut up, and divided it between two slow cookers to make a double batch. I used half to make soup and froze the other half. I froze the chicken meat to use later in a soup or casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Bloomfield, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States