Chicken Broth in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
This was my first time making broth in the slow cooker. After three hours I removed the meat from the chicken and returned the bones to the slow cooker to continue cooking. I skipped the basil and added peppercorns, garlic, and fresh parsley. This recipe produced a full flavored, delicious broth without having to babysit the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
I have used this recipe several times. The last was last Thanksgiving and I had 16 turkey carcasses, along with necks and giblets (we served dinner at the VFW). I needed to do several batches, using 5 slower cookers at a time, and then froze the broth into 1, 2 and 4 cup bags to use later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bfr610

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: North Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Super simple way to make homemade chicken broth! I turned right around and made a homemade soup with it, using the chicken meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barngurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I did not care for this recipe. It smells really good but tastes like water. I followed the recipe with some slight changes. I used 8 bone-in skin-on thighs,2 bay leafs, thyme,(instead of basil) onion(with skin on), carrots, celery(with leaves), salt, peppercorns. Don't know where I went wrong, well stick to my stove top mothers recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Wish I had thought of this or learned this technic a long time ago, was so easy. I ended up having to leave this going for 24 hours due to last minute circumstances, just added two cups more water midway through to make up for evaporation. Added the additional herbs recommended by other reviewers and came out wonderful. Will never go back to can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
This was my first time ever making chicken broth from scratch. It was so thick and wonderful! I could have easily just eaten the broth with bread and been happy. So yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litlmissmuffette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I freeze chicken the carcass after a roast chicken dinner. When I need chicken stock I just take it out of the freezer and make it in the same way at this recipe. Wonderful stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Preety good recipe.....i just hate to waste the whole chicken pieces. I use a leftover Rottissere chicken carcass. We have already used the breasts for salad, and the drumsticks and thighs for dinner. We also vary from the original recipe by adding in 1 or 2 parsnips......for the sweetness that they add to the broth. My wife and i also use poultry seasoning instead of the basil .....gives it more flavor..... Be careful about what type of Rottissere chicken that you use...some are barbecued or have garlic or lemon flavorings.....these flavor will show up in the shock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Love things in crock pot! Tho I did add garlic, rosemary and a little poultry seasoning , oh yes salt too. It makes for a stronger flavored stock . I like to use any parts that I can get my hands on from the chicken No gizzards chill strain out all veggies bring back to simmer on stove make tiny chicken meat balls cook in stock add some spinach and pasta and "viola" a different take on Italian Wedding soup. Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
When I add spices to any broth like recipe I put the spices is a large loose tea strainer, that way you can pull it out without a mess. I also use this when I cook corn beef, no spices mixed in the corn beef just all the flavor. I also use a chinois strainer to strain the broth because it is so very fine and really helps to take all the fine particles out. Sorta like having a reusable cheese cloth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millbrae, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States