Chicken Broth in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2014
I tried this recipe and LOVE it. It didn't taste much like the store-bought stock, but everyone likes it so much more. The chicken thighs I put in were almost all gristle and fat, but when I strained out the veggies/chicken, all the bad parts had melted off and left delicious soft chicken behind. I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Okay, so this recipe is so totally easy. I've never made broth before, although I'm a pretty adventurous and experienced cook, but I'm also rather a lazy cook, and I love to walk away, which is why I love the slow cooker. I stumbled upon this recipe while trying to figure out what chicken soup to make with a rotisserie chicken carcass. Didn't find a soup I liked, so I made one up, but I decided to use this broth as a base. So easy and it made for a wonderful chicken soup base. I did add some bullion to the broth because I was making chicken soup, and subbed parsley for the basil, but otherwise just left it alone. I cooked on 4 hours on high, removed several of the veggies and 4 cups of stock for the chicken soup I was making, then added back in 6 cups of water and simmered on low for another 6 hours or so. I ended up with about 5 1/2 cups of broth to freeze, which I separated into containers with 2 cups and 1 1/2 cups of broth respectively. I used a paper towel in a colander to separate out the broth from the chicken and vegetables, then picked through the chicken, removed the bones, removed the onions, and gave to the dog as a snack once it was cool. I'll so totally make this broth again. It was so easy, and very flavorful. And, although there was some fat on top when all was said and done, it was very little and I won't skim it next time since it was barely worth it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
far prefer my stove top recipes but this does come in handy in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
So good! So easy! Never throwing away a chicken carcass again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Liquid Gold! This is my favorite, super easy way to make chicken broth. I put a chicken carcass in the crockpot at night, sleep, and when I get up the broth is finished. Can't get any easier! I froze in 2 cup amounts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
delicious! I used breast because that is what I had on hand. I put the vegetables in a blender with some of the broth...very good. The chicken can be used in just about any other dish. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Very good. It was cheaper to buy a whole chicken than to buy a kilo of pieces so I roasted a chicken then stripped most of the meat and used the carcass for this recipe. I then used the broth to make a recipe from this site called Sopa de ajo (Mexican garlic soup), it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lower Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Easy, peasy! Can be made with chicken, beef or turkey for different variations plus it makes your home smell wonderful. Much like other reviewers, parsley, pepper, bay leaf, etc., all enhance whatever stock I choose to make. 5 stars for ease, clean up, preparation, but most of all for the flavor. Thank you Micki for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I don't have a slow cooker so I do this stove top. I used this as a starter recipe. I also season the broth with rosemary and thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Nanjing, Jiangsu Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
I've made chicken broth like this for years. Love it. I've always added bay leaves and thyme, never thought of basil. I bought some fresh basil and threw the whole leaves in so I can strain them out easier later. I think it gives it a wonderful flavor. Not sure why everyone is leaving it out....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States