Chicken Broccoli Ca - Unieng's Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
Quick and easy, my family loved it. I didn't have any oyster sauce so I just used a little more Soy. Delicous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeffrey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mosinee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
The bok choy turn too soft if cook on the same time with broccoli. What I did, I steam the broccoli for a moment then add to the chicken the same time with bok choy only for several minutes. It works well for me.All veggie still crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bunda Estherlita Suryoputro

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bontang, Kalimantan Timur, Indonesia
Living In: Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
This is a good recipe, but you have to keep in mind that each soya sauce and oyster sauce has their own taste, so the result of the recipe will differ according to which brand you've used. I usually use broth (or add a bit of bouillon in the water), add 1 tbs soy sauce and 1 tbs oyster sauce into it, and sprinkle a bit of pepper. I also use 1 tbs hoisin sauce and 1/4 tsp five spice powder in the chicken marinade. Sometimes I replace the chicken with pork or beef, and add 1 tbs chinese rice wine or dry sherry into the marinade. For quicker vegetable cooking, put a lid on your skillet/wok after you've added the water mixture, set the fire on high. In less than 5 minutes the veggies will be soft but still crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SummerRain

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2003
The first time I made this, it wasn't horrible, it's just the second time around it was so much better. This recipe is excellent, after you alter slightly. On it's own, the pepper can be a little dominant as far as taste and bok choy doesn't seem necessary. My suggestion is, use more soy and oyster sauce, cut out the pepper and leave the bok choy optional. After that, it was sensational. Adding a little more sugar and a chicken bouillon cube to the water doesn't hurt either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2002
I've been making stir-fry's since I started cooking, and this was by far the best one that's ever come out of my kitchen. I put it over chow mein noodles. This is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
Awesome! I marinaded the chicken in oyster sauce, soy sauce and garlic paste overnight. I added more during the cooking when I saw it wasn't going to be saucy enough. I didn't need to add any cornstarch as it thickened up quite nicely on its own. Finally, I found that the bok choy needed very very little cooking - I stirred it in, covered the pan for about 3 mins, and it was tender crisp. Perfect! This would be great with carrots, peppers, bean sprouts, mushrooms etc, and I would be interested in making it again with a handful of chopped peanuts or cashews. Very versatile! Thanks, unieng!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I'm not sure why, since all the right ingredients seemed to be here, but this was really kind of boring. I would have thought the oyster sauce, soy sauce and garlic all would have contributed great flavor but it all just sort of got lost. Perhaps some sherry, toasted sesame oil and chicken broth would have helped. I did back off the pepper, which seemed excessive, because as the saying goes, you can always add more but you can't take it away. I also steered away from the cooking method as directed. Since some of the ingredients require different cooking times I cooked them separately, then combined it all at the end. I added mushrooms and served this over rice noodles, which was a nice combo, but unfortunately tonight's dinner was rather forgettable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2002
Excellent stir fry. My husband and I loved it. And the possibilities with this are endless -- next time I might make it spicy with red pepper flakes and add some peanuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I loved this, but I've turned it into a stir fry. I added red and green peppers, waterchestnuts, zuccini, squash, and mushrooms. Also with the cornstarch mix, i add a teaspoon of spicy chili sauce, little more oyster sauce, sesame oil and sesame seeds. This is a great touch for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2003
This was a good recipe. I also increased the amount of oyster sauce and soy sauce and reduced the pepper (thanks to the other reviewers comments). I found the cooking time a bit long in this recipe and as a result, the broccoli became too soft. By reducing the times by about half, the recipe was much fresher and tender rather than soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States