Chicken Broccoli Ca - Unieng's Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
This was very good. I agree that there wasn't enough sauce at the end of cooking and adding more soy sauce made it too salty. I think you should add an additional half cup of water and add a boullion cube. The Bok Choy is a keeper in this. loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
This dish is wonderful. Quick, easy, and very flavorful. I did not have bok choy so I used regular cabbage. I will be adding this to my recipe box for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
This was m,y first time making an Asian dish and it was wonderful! So much so thatg we had a potluck and I ended up making this dish again- everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
Definitely good. I added twice the oyster sauce and soy sauce and I'm so glad I did. Pepper was awesome in it - don't be scared of the full teaspoon! I didn't use any bok choy, just a ton of broccoli, which took a little bit longer to cook than the instructions said. In the future, I would cook the chicken for less than 10 minutes. Also, I had to add more than 1/2 cup water with the broccoli, there was just not enough liquid to make a sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrisMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Wow, this was great! I didn't have any oyster sauce, so I used fish sauce instead. It was quite salty, however. Next time I will use low sodium soy sauce. I also separated the bok choy stems and leaves, adding the stems in with the broccoli and the leaves at the very end to ensure even cooking. Thanks for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2009
I used pork chops instead of chicken and did not use brocoli.I agree with others, more soy sauce and oyster sauce. Next time I make it I would use pepper flakes to make it spicy and add the bok choy towards the end just for a couple of minutes so they stay crispy. great flavor and very easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pao2310

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
This is my last minute never fail broccoli chicken! I love it, so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mary Esther, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
Very good and simple recipe. While marinating, I also added come cooking wine to the chicken to give it additional flavor. I omitted the bok choy and it was just fine! Great, fast dish! I will add carrots and mushrooms next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaDoubleJs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
My dad and I made 3x the recipe. We cooked the chicken, and vegetables separately and then threw them together for a few minutes at the end so the flavors stay distinct. We separated the bok choy leaves from the stems and cut up the stem part and cooked that part longer than the leaves. It was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
I thought this was just OK. I can see where, as some folks said, it would be a good starter to add other veggies, but it was really rather bland. I even added more oyster and soy sauce as advised. Definitely would up the garlic and perhaps some cayenne or something. The advice about adding the bok choy at the very end is also true.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States