Chicken Broccoli Ca - Unieng's Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
A new staple in my stir-fry-crazy house. Quick, easy, and full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
I followed the directions exactly, aside from adding the broccoli and bok choy at different times (so they wouldn't get mushy). I'm glad I tasted it before serving because it was very boring and had nowhere near the flavor I was hoping for. I ended up adding more soy sauce and some Thai spicy jelly sauce I had on hand to make it more interesting. It's a good base for a stir fry, but not that great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmiecupcake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Lake, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
A nice surprise...really tasted quite authentic for such a jiffy prep time. Easy to tweak and add new things. Thanks! Used someone else's idea of just soy sauce because I had no oyster sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Made this for dinner tonight. My family loved it! The only changes I made were adding an extra tablespoon of oyster sauce and soy sauce to the marinade. The sauce was so good and could work with a variety of vegetables and proteins. I might even make this with tofu one day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendora, California, USA
Living In: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I used frozen broccoli and minced garlic and omitted the bok choy. I did add baby corn, water chestnuts and a little red crushed pepper. HUGE hit with the family! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Delicious! Didn't have any oyster sauce, so used some A-1 steak sauce. Good tastes all around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This is very good. Unfortunately, I ran out of soy sauce in the middle--only 1 tablespoon. I added a can of chinese vegetables with the broccoli. Served it with an egg roll. The pepper was a good but surprising addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
THis was great! Was looking for something to please my 9 year old when he asked for Chinese. Had everything except the bok choy and subbed celery instead. I loved the peppery taste; that did it for me. Thanks for sharing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I agree with most of the other reviews in that the sauce(oyster and Soy) and the water needs to be doubled. I also added some crushed red pepper flakes to give it a little "kick". To keep the vegetables from getting too soft, I added them at the same time I added the cornstarch( in the last 5 min of cooking).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Niskayuna, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Awesome recipe! To jazz it up a bit, I add about a tablespoon of chopped ginger to the onion and garlic. I also add about a tablespoon or hot chili oil to the 3 tablespoons of peanut oil. It gives the dish extra spice and flavor. I do as suggested and add more oyster sauce, pepper, and sugar. I don't like cooking with bok choy so I use cabbage. I've also added shrimp and tofu to the recipe. This one is a keeper! As good as if you ordered it at a restaurant. Oh, and always use Jasmine rice, it taste the best. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States