Chicken Broccoli Ca - Unieng's Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
My dad and I made 3x the recipe. We cooked the chicken, and vegetables separately and then threw them together for a few minutes at the end so the flavors stay distinct. We separated the bok choy leaves from the stems and cut up the stem part and cooked that part longer than the leaves. It was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
I thought this was just OK. I can see where, as some folks said, it would be a good starter to add other veggies, but it was really rather bland. I even added more oyster and soy sauce as advised. Definitely would up the garlic and perhaps some cayenne or something. The advice about adding the bok choy at the very end is also true.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Made recipe exactly described. Was able to find all the ingredient from my local megamarket. I spread this over jasmine rice, and it was very good. Next time, I will reduce the pepper to half, and double the soy sauce and oyster sauce. I used left over chicken from a roaster, so it was much more economical then using just chicken breasts (and dare I say it added more flavor).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
This is such an excellent base for chinese stir fries. After making this recipe for a while, which is absolutely delicious as is, I was able to just make great authentic-tasting chinese dishes freehand. No recipe necessary! It is great. One thing that I recommend is to thinly slice the chicken, WITH the grain, not against. This makes the chicken soooo much more tender! You wouldn't believe what a difference it makes. It is how most chinese restaurants slice their chicken. Also, always make sure your wok is VERY hot!!! So important... Excellent recipe! 5+ Stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Delicious! Definitely use the oyster sauce and low sodium soy sauce, skip the pepper, and add extra vegies at the end, so as not to overcook. I happened to have/used: yellow pepper, green onion, and tofu, which I added with the rest of called for ingredients. Oh...and increase the amount of sauce--it makes this recipe. Way easy and quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Meh. I followed the recipe exactly but marinated the chicken overnight. It wasn't flavorful at all. Kind of a disappointment. Maybe put ginger and garlic in the marinade?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Catlin
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Really good & easy recipe. I doubled all the marinade/sauce ingredients because we like the sauce. I didn't have any onions so I added some onion powder in with the garlic while it sauteed. I didn't have any bok choy and I steamed the broccoli in the microwave before adding it into the mixture. I was glad i did...once the cornstarch was added, the sauce thickened right away. We really enjoyed the flavors and it does have some spice to it with the black pepper. Thanks for a greay recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
The ingredients in this recipe are spectacular together. The cook times suggested are not. Substitute 5-7 minutes for each recipe segment that recommends 10. A couple other helpful hints: My sauce was completely reduced by the time I added cornstarch, so I added back about 3/4 c. water (this will vary depending on cook times). I also added a generous splash of soy sauce and oyster sauce here to bring out these flavors. Finally, do not add the bok choy until the last minutes of cooking so the leaves maintain some crispness instead of resembling soggy spinach. The flavor of this recipe couldn't get any better. Oh, and beware that a whole teaspoon of pepper makes this dish pretty spicy. Use a half teaspoon if you want to avoid that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Really good with healthy ingredients! I didn't have oyster sauce so I used extra soy. Turned out great because the sugar added to the dish adds enough sweetness. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dena Newkirk

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Very good recipe!! Restaurant quality! Just next time I will double the liquid; I like more sauce :) I also didn't use the amount of pepper as stated. I used less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States