Chicken Breasts with Plum Salsa and Basmati Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
Wow, what a delicious recipe! A warning for those who don't like spicy foods -- this one is HOT! I am from Arizona and enjoy spcy foods but the salsa, even with only two habaneros, had a lot of heat to it. I pureed half of the salsa and cooked it, hoping to mellow that hotness from the peppers, and it worked a little, but everyone agreed that the fresh salsa was much better. The salsa by itself is a keeper but on the chicken it really pops! Try this recipe, and maybe use a less spicy pepper (although it might spoil the festive color!) and you'll be surprised at how tasty the two flavors are together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
Delicious recipe!! I altered the plum salsa a little - used 1 1/2 jalapenos instead of habaneros and I also added the juice of 1/2 of a lime. It was excellent - and a little less spicy, although spicy enough. I cooked the chicken on our foreman with a glaze of melted butter and lime juice. I really loved this...although it wasn't my husband's favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Cole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
The salsa is to die for! We have a plum tree and like southwest spicy food. We made this recipe 3 times and also used the salsa on pork tenderloin. Muoy Bueno! We have made the salsa with serrano, habaneros and jalapenos and all are excellent. Guests loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I am actually reviewing only the salsa, which is outstanding and would go well with chicken (or pork) prepared any way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Good EatNZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA
Photo by Meekocu
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
My! My! My!! Was this ever SO good! I was hesitant, though, with the combination of flavors, but my, my, my, do they ever work so good together!! I will be makIng this again. Made as directed, salsa, used 3 SEEDED SMALL habaneros in the salsa, marinated in the fridge for an hour and it was NOT too hot. Had a little kick but worked well with the sweetness of the sugar and plums and tang of the cilantro. Marinated the chicken breasts in the salt, pepper, and fresh minced rosemary for about 30 minutes, and since it was nice out, I had DH grill them instead of pan frying. Was a nice surprise taste for the both of us, he LOVED the salsa!! Did not make the rice or green beans but cooked an Uncled Bens boxed rice (Parmesean&Ramano) and sauted spinach in infused garlic olive oil. Made for a nice, healthy, and light, summer dinner!! Thank you so much, for posting this recipe!! It's a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meekocu

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
LOVED the Salsa!! I used a jalapeno instead and found it a perfect degree of heat and still maintain the flavor of the salsa. It was awesome with the chicken! This one is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Earwood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
I hate reviewing recipes when I don't follow them to the letter but I have to on this one. I made 2 changes based on previous reviews. I used jalapenos instead of habaneros. I knew that would be too hot. I also made this with pork. WoW Great flavour combo with the pork, rosemary and salsa. The only other thing to mention is the portion was way too much for us. The salsa alone was enough for 4 people. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
This was very tasty. I pretty much followed the recipe with one minor change. I pureed a little bit of the salsa and marinated the chicken in that overnite to infuse a little bit of the plum flavor. I wasn't able to find haberno peppers so I used jalapenos and used less. I think next time I'll use the full amount as it wasn't as hot as I was afraid it would be. I added a bit of chicken stock to the pan as I cooked the chicken too. I'll make this again. Yummy summery recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Great recipe. But since I'm not suicidal, I nixed the three habaneros and just used a jalapeno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
This was very good, minus the habanero peppers. I only added one and a half and the salsa was still way too hot and overpowered everything. Other than that, it tasted pretty good and I will probably try to make it again without the peppers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DMcCartney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winchester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Pan-Seared Chicken Breasts with Shallots

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts with sautéed shallots.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States