Chicken Breasts with Olives Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
This is an excellent dish with an exotic mid-eastern appeal. The recipe is easy to follow and the flavors make a nice tangy mix. I changed the recipe slightly to fit my preference for well browned and crispy chicken. Therefore, I suggest searing the chicken breasts in a hot pan until the desired color is attained. Then, turn down the heat to medium and add the pan ingredients. Cook until some of the juice has been reduced. I also would cover the dish in the oven to avoid drying out as there is not much liquid in the recipe. The olives give a beautiful green color but I might also suggest adding some strips of sweet red bell pepper to enhance the appearance. When squeezing lemons, I never just throw the rinds away. They can be sliced or cut in rings to add a beautiful side garnish to the serving plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
204 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
What a wonderful and quick recipe! I didn't have tarragon, though it sounds delicious, so I substituted with fresh chives from my garden. I also added a few kalamata olives for an extra kick. Will definitely make this one again hopefully with tarragon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Tasty and easy. I used a combo of green, black, and red cerignola olives. Next time I may double the butter and lemon because I would like a little more juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Best Chicken dish I have ever made! I did improvise a little...substituted butter with olive oil, fresh lemon for lemon juice from a bottle, tarragon for a fine herb blend of parsley, chives and tarragon and added capers. I also didn't bother browning it, just baked at 350 for 30 minutes. Kids gobbled it (without the olives!) I served it over salad with a homemade dressing similar to what the chicken was cooked in-YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Whalley-Pen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This was very good. I used thyme instead of tarragon because I did not have tarragon. I also only used 2 teaspoons of garlic not tablespoons. I did not have an oven safe pan so I transferred the chicken to a 9 x 13 glass dish and cooked it covered with foil at 375 for 30 minutes. Very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Didn't have any olives, but substituted a can of artichoke hearts and *magnifico* We loved it! So juicy and tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
very good l am so tired of chicken but we really enjoyed this. all i did different was rinse the olives to lower the salt. we will have this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I really loved this recipe, and it was great for my dad, who's on Atkins, because it's so low in carbohydrates. I increased the amount of butter and lemon, and I also added some sliced black olives and a few sweet pickled onions for a zesty flavour. I'll remember this recipe next time I cook chicken breasts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Instead of tarragon, I used sage and also added Kalamata and black olives. It was absolute heaven. However, to turn this dish into a household staple, I used 2 tablespoons of olive oil instead of the butter and parsley instead of tarragon. It doesn't taste quite as good, but it is much lighter and much healthier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaporet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
.... this is a wonderful dish! We loved it..... will use it for company dish. Soooooo easy. If you make it, "don't" change anything! Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Chef John's Chicken and Olives

Moist, tender seared chicken finishes in a savory olive sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States