Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
This is the original contributor of the recipe (although my handle has changed). I had not used this recipe in years and decided to see if it was still here. I have to say I was rather shocked at the amount of butter myself! I took a reviewer's suggestion and substituted chicken broth for half of it, and that was great. Maybe you could even do 3/4 broth. My kids love this kind of chicken and its easy to leave the sauce off for picky ones. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
441 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
I made this last night--it was a huge hit at my house. The sauce is excellent--tangy, zesty, summery, and creamy--it's a refreshing change! Because the breasts are breaded, they soak up the savory flavor. *Hint*: I substituted italian-seasoned/garlic bread crumbs and two stalkes of freshly chopped green onions for the plain bread crumbs and chives, which tasted scrumptious! This dish also reheats great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
180 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
Delicious, but greasy. After frying the chicken in oil, and then adding a butter sauce this dish was too greasy. However, it tasted great! Next time I'm going to try grilling my chicken and then pouring the sauce over to cut out some of the grease. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
We loved this: Even the kids ate everything. My teen-aged daughter loves chicken piccata and she said she liked this even more. Very easy to prepare. The one change I made was to forego breading and just pounded the breasts. Used bottled lime juice as I didn't have any fresh ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
I would give this 5 stars the way I made it. After reading all the reviews, I changed things up a bit. I cooked the chicken as according to the recipe, although I seasoned with pepper before breading. For the sauce: first, I deglazed the pan (there were burnt parts of the breading, and NOTHING to drain), and got that clean. Then, I added about 1/3 cup chicken broth and 3 tablespoons of butter, got that boiling and reduced it a bit. Then added 2 tablespoons of lime juice (not from a lime), then chives, and the dill. Prior to making the sauce, I mixed some flour with some water, made about a tablespoon's worth of the flour paste to thicken the sauce. I added that last, and let it all boil for like a minute. Then, I put the chicken back in and served. Nice thick TASTY sauce. Not too limey. The dill flavor came out nicely. It all blended SO well. YUM! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
This was good, but not what I expected. The sauce is basically just butter with some dill and a tiny bit of lime juice. The recipe says (after removing cooked chicken to a platter) to drain grease from the skillet---there is none left! Two tablespoons of olive oil get soaked up pretty quickly by the breaded chicken! The lime juice sizzles and almost immediately evaporates (in the form of steam) before you can add the butter. So you end up with dill flavored butter--not a bad thing, but not quite what I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
the chicken was excellent, but i've gotta go with queenmab on the sauce - way way WAY too much butter! it overpowered everything, including the lime - which isn't easy to do! i subbed saltine cracker crumbs for the bread crumbs - just the right amount of salt built in! will make again, but will play with sauce - i think i'll knock back the butter to two tablespoons and add 3 tblsp of honey to soften the lime. not bad but needs work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
I made this last night for my husband who is not real fond of chicken. Well, he absolutely LOVED this recipe. I had several key limes so used three of them and oh was it good!! I too am watching my weight but I will not change this recipe - I would suggest you use a little more lime juice. I served it with spicy yellow rice and my husband loved that too. It is definitely a keeper and he wants it again next week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
WOW! WHAT A REFRESHING DISH. I prepared our dinner updated for 6 with 4 guests with side dishes of Balsamic Rice. An Orange Mixed Greens salad with Olive Oil and a ginger vinegar salad dressing Chicken Breast was a winner, our guests proclaimed.Grandma Jewel
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
This recipe came to me as the recipe of the day, and I made it for my boyfriend and my roomate and they both loved it. In fact, the following week they asked me to make it again, and I did because I loved it too. This recipe is quick and easy and tastes great with a ceasar salad and some couscous served on the side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lewes, Delaware, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 467) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States