Chicken Breasts in a Sour Cream and Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I really loved this. It was pretty easy as I already had bacon cooked from the day before. I had a three pack of some pretty thick breasts. I trimmed the fat from the edges and halved them thickness wise, so I ended up with six thinner cutlets, which worked out great. I used fresh mushrooms, added a bit more broth to the consistency that I liked, and some garlic per another review. Next time I may add diced green pepper to mimmick the "Chicken Supreme" my mother used to make. Really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Thank you for so many kind and thoughtful reviews! I am happy that you and your families enjoy this recipe as much as mine does. I have found a solution to the thin sauce (which always baffled me, too) -- let the entire dish sit for ten minutes or so (in the baking dish and at least partially covered) before serving, and the sauce should thicken up. The sauce may separate, so be sure to stir it as the directions indicate before serving. The chicken will still be hot if you leave it in the baking pan. If you have leftovers, you will notice that the sauce has thickened considerably. I hope this helps, and that you continue to enjoy this meal! Kathy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carlsbad, California, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Oh, wow. This reminds me of a recipe I made a long time ago. Made the recipe exactly as it is listed, including the rice. The gravy was scrumptious, the chicken tender and delicious. The only addition was some steamed broccoli - and dinner was set. I am always looking for recipes that use what I have on hand, and preferably do not use canned ingredients such as condensed cream soups, which have unhealthy chemicals in them. This met my needs very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Followed directions exactly with no substitutions...and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This was really delicious! I usually don't cook this fattening of meals, but it was NYE and splurged. It reminded me of a recipe I had years ago made very similarly, thanks for posting! PS. I think the bacon and almonds are fairly unecessary, flavorful enough without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA
Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
My husband, who usually doesn't like anything I cook, ate and ate and ate and ate. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Using Fresh mushrooms & Shallots (instead of green onion) makes this so Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SovereignJoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
I fried the chicken in bacon grease, doubled the sauce, used non-fat sour cream and 1 pound of fresh mushrooms instead of canned, putting it over brown rice. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rocky Hill Gal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
I wanted something different. This was good, however, I did have to change things. Like others mentioned, added garlic and browned my chicken in the left over bacon grease. I found the sauce too thin, so had to keep adding starch and flour to make it thicken. Over all, nice change to a meal. Takes a bit of time, but can be worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Mixed the bacon in with the chicken prior to baking and used a small, diced yellow onion and fresh mushrooms, adding a clove of garlic. The amount of rice could be cut back, as is VERY generous for the amount of chicken/sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States