Chicken Breasts in a Sour Cream and Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
It was awesome! I used a little bit of the bacon grease with the butter and added garlic. I like a a lot of sauce so I double the wine and chicken broth. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
My family enjoyed this recipe. I did make a couple of very small changes. I cooked the bacon in the microwave and added it to the sauce instead of using for garnish, cooked fresh mushrooms to add instead of using canned and omitted the onions and almonds. It felt like a very heavy meal so I wont' make it often but if I needed to finish up a bottle of white wine I'd make it again on a cold night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CraftyPancakes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lake Arrowhead, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
I cooked it for dinner and if was absolutely beautiful. I did make some adjustments though. I used 1 very large chicken breastfeeding and halved it , the bacon I put into the sauce into the oven and cooked like normal and since I didn't have any spring onions I diced up 1 red onion and I use frozen mushrooms instead of tinned. My husband even liked it and he doesn't like cream sauces. I served it with baked veges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
This was a hit with my boys! They are very very picky eaters. I subbed the white win with white vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Scott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Tried this last night.. left out bacon, cause that only belongs with my eggs and hash.. lol but this meal was the biggest hit with the family. Thank you. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
I only had 2 chicken breasts so I also used 2 thighs. My family LOVED this recipe. This would be ideal to serve to company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly except I browned the chicken in the bacon fat and served over noodles. It was very good and my husband liked it, I will likely make it again. I would, however, likely substitute shallots for the green onions as another reviewer suggested. The chicken was surprisingly tender, I was worried it would be overcooked. My husband enjoyed leftovers the next day but found some of the chicken to be too gamey when he ate leftovers the 2nd day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Using Fresh mushrooms & Shallots (instead of green onion) makes this so Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SovereignJoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Thank you for so many kind and thoughtful reviews! I am happy that you and your families enjoy this recipe as much as mine does. I have found a solution to the thin sauce (which always baffled me, too) -- let the entire dish sit for ten minutes or so (in the baking dish and at least partially covered) before serving, and the sauce should thicken up. The sauce may separate, so be sure to stir it as the directions indicate before serving. The chicken will still be hot if you leave it in the baking pan. If you have leftovers, you will notice that the sauce has thickened considerably. I hope this helps, and that you continue to enjoy this meal! Kathy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carlsbad, California, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
I wanted something different. This was good, however, I did have to change things. Like others mentioned, added garlic and browned my chicken in the left over bacon grease. I found the sauce too thin, so had to keep adding starch and flour to make it thicken. Over all, nice change to a meal. Takes a bit of time, but can be worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Nieminen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States