Chicken Breasts in a Date, Caper, and Mascarpone Sauce with Couscous Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
This is one of my favorite recipes. I don't make it often because of all the calories, but whenever I do everyone loves it! I usually end up using more cream and cheese than what the recipe calls for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I thought this sounded pretty bizarre, but I was ever so curious - I am SO GLAD I made it. Friends and family now request it ALL the time at my house. The kids really love it - they call it "Adventure Chicken" (cause of the capers - get it? Capers? Adventures? Ahem.) I can't get enough of the sauce, it's just excellent. Wickedchef, this is outstanding!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
The sauce alone was amazing!!!! such a wonderful mix of flavors and textures this dish is... a definite redo!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodward, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
I don't know how the sauce would taste using cream but it was wonderful using half and half instead. When grilling chicken for dinner one evening we grilled extra chicken to have on hand to use for this recipe. That way this recipe was ready in less than 30 mins. The picture does not do the presentation of this dish justice. It was very attractive with the red tomto and green cucumber on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
You're going to die when you find out what I did to this recipe (chef, please forgive me). I'm a compulsive substituter, because I hate waste and spent many years living in the woods far from town, so always use what's at hand. Ask my grown sons. Oh, the stories. So, I followed all the instructions, except didn't have dates, so substituted (ready?) fresh blueberries. I know they don't even remotely resemble dates, but wait till you hear what happened to the sauce! As it cooked, it turned a gorgeous lavender cream color. Ah, so beautiful. Goat cheese replaced the mascarpone (which I suspect prevented the sweetness that was prominent in others' comments) and it added an absolutely awesome depth of flavor. Tomato dices (didn't have cucumbers either!) sprinkled liberally added to the beautiful colors -- cream-colored couscous, light-blue tinted sauce with bright red accents. And, the flavors...Let's eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wickedchef
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Thanks for all the comments I am glad you enjoyed it . Now some comments I added to times back but I guess it went under a adapted version .. so did not show up ..."Well actually I never wrote the chicken should be grilled when I transmitted the recipe, the Editor here at allrecipes.com took a few liberties i don't agree with . I would either poach the chicken or finish it in the oven i it gets to dry otherwise . And I would keep the chicken off the Couscous and don't sprinkle Dates on the CousCous ( gets to sweet.. ) and then the sauce needs to go on the chicken as well on the tomatoes and cucumbers ... ( Please see picture ) Just my original instructions , but you are free to try the editors way of doing it :-)" For the sweetness it is important to top it with the lime juice and as I said to season it , it should be a fine balance between sweet sour and savory flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wickedchef

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This recipe is now in regular rotation- the blend of these unique flavors makes the dish really special, and it's so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JillianC
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I just finished making and eating this dish! I made a few changes: I used 6 chicken thighs instead of breast and doubled the sauce ingredients (except the capers since my boyfriend doesn't like them; I only used 1/4 cup). I grilled the chicken on our PC grill (like a George Foreman) and it wasn't dry at all. I used the couscous in a box that has raisins and nuts in it as I felt it would go well with the dates and capers in the sauce - I was right! I omitted the cucumber as I don't like them. I followed the chef's suggestions in his comment post and didn't put the sauce on the couscous - only on the chicken. And I made sure to squeeze some lemon juice over the chicken and sauce once I had plated it. It was all delicious! 2 thumbs up! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
This is easy and delicious! The sauce would work for many other dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Unbelievably good! I added some sliced cherry tomatoes to the sauce right when I took it off the heat. I had to use vanilla soy milk because I have a lactose intolerance and that was all I had on hand(weird - but it still turned out great). Finally, something different and new. Thank you for this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ACL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States