Chicken Breasts in a Date, Caper, and Mascarpone Sauce with Couscous Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I halved the capers only because I didn't have as much on hand as the recipe called for. Hubby said he was glad I cut back on the capers and suggested adding a little more date next time. I agree with Brinnet's comment that you really need the tomato and cucumber (and lime) on top to cut the richness of the sauce. Pan fried the chicken and subbed quinoa for cous cous. Hubby doesn't like quinoa nor cucumbers, but with this dish, he ate every last bite (and I'd piled a lot of cucumber and quinoa on his plate!) UPDATE: I gave this recipe to a friend, who made it for me. She got confused and accidentally used figs instead of dates. The recipe is delicious with the figs, also, though not nearly as sweet. It didn't need the citrus, tomato and cucumber as much as the date version does. While I personally like the date version better, people who prefer it to be a little less sweet may like the fig version better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
I did a veggie version of this recipe by leaving out the chicken and it was awesome. I recommend using an ample pile of cucumber and tomato on the top of the dish (or sprinkled around it) to cut the delicious, but otherwise overwhelming sauce. An easy recipe to produce as long as you've got the ingredients around. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bayside, California, USA
Living In: Monterey, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Phenomenal. I substituted a gardein brand veggie chicken. This was delightful and a surprising combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Unbelievably good! I added some sliced cherry tomatoes to the sauce right when I took it off the heat. I had to use vanilla soy milk because I have a lactose intolerance and that was all I had on hand(weird - but it still turned out great). Finally, something different and new. Thank you for this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ACL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
This is easy and delicious! The sauce would work for many other dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
You're going to die when you find out what I did to this recipe (chef, please forgive me). I'm a compulsive substituter, because I hate waste and spent many years living in the woods far from town, so always use what's at hand. Ask my grown sons. Oh, the stories. So, I followed all the instructions, except didn't have dates, so substituted (ready?) fresh blueberries. I know they don't even remotely resemble dates, but wait till you hear what happened to the sauce! As it cooked, it turned a gorgeous lavender cream color. Ah, so beautiful. Goat cheese replaced the mascarpone (which I suspect prevented the sweetness that was prominent in others' comments) and it added an absolutely awesome depth of flavor. Tomato dices (didn't have cucumbers either!) sprinkled liberally added to the beautiful colors -- cream-colored couscous, light-blue tinted sauce with bright red accents. And, the flavors...Let's eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This recipe is now in regular rotation- the blend of these unique flavors makes the dish really special, and it's so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JillianC
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I just finished making and eating this dish! I made a few changes: I used 6 chicken thighs instead of breast and doubled the sauce ingredients (except the capers since my boyfriend doesn't like them; I only used 1/4 cup). I grilled the chicken on our PC grill (like a George Foreman) and it wasn't dry at all. I used the couscous in a box that has raisins and nuts in it as I felt it would go well with the dates and capers in the sauce - I was right! I omitted the cucumber as I don't like them. I followed the chef's suggestions in his comment post and didn't put the sauce on the couscous - only on the chicken. And I made sure to squeeze some lemon juice over the chicken and sauce once I had plated it. It was all delicious! 2 thumbs up! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wickedchef
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Thanks for all the comments I am glad you enjoyed it . Now some comments I added to times back but I guess it went under a adapted version .. so did not show up ..."Well actually I never wrote the chicken should be grilled when I transmitted the recipe, the Editor here at allrecipes.com took a few liberties i don't agree with . I would either poach the chicken or finish it in the oven i it gets to dry otherwise . And I would keep the chicken off the Couscous and don't sprinkle Dates on the CousCous ( gets to sweet.. ) and then the sauce needs to go on the chicken as well on the tomatoes and cucumbers ... ( Please see picture ) Just my original instructions , but you are free to try the editors way of doing it :-)" For the sweetness it is important to top it with the lime juice and as I said to season it , it should be a fine balance between sweet sour and savory flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wickedchef

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
The sauce alone was amazing!!!! such a wonderful mix of flavors and textures this dish is... a definite redo!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodward, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States