Chicken Breasts in a Date, Caper, and Mascarpone Sauce with Couscous Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by FunkyGourmet
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
Ohmygoodness this was heavenly! Thank you, thank you for sharing it with us! I felt like I was at a fancy restaurant. Kids, adults both ate and raved of how delicious this was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunkyGourmet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Superior, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Nothing was wrong with the recipe but we didn't like the flavor. My husband & I thought the sauce almost tasted like it was mayo based.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Excellent! Made just like the chef said in his review. I poach the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myboysmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I halved the capers only because I didn't have as much on hand as the recipe called for. Hubby said he was glad I cut back on the capers and suggested adding a little more date next time. I agree with Brinnet's comment that you really need the tomato and cucumber (and lime) on top to cut the richness of the sauce. Pan fried the chicken and subbed quinoa for cous cous. Hubby doesn't like quinoa nor cucumbers, but with this dish, he ate every last bite (and I'd piled a lot of cucumber and quinoa on his plate!) UPDATE: I gave this recipe to a friend, who made it for me. She got confused and accidentally used figs instead of dates. The recipe is delicious with the figs, also, though not nearly as sweet. It didn't need the citrus, tomato and cucumber as much as the date version does. While I personally like the date version better, people who prefer it to be a little less sweet may like the fig version better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
I did a veggie version of this recipe by leaving out the chicken and it was awesome. I recommend using an ample pile of cucumber and tomato on the top of the dish (or sprinkled around it) to cut the delicious, but otherwise overwhelming sauce. An easy recipe to produce as long as you've got the ingredients around. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bayside, California, USA
Living In: Monterey, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Phenomenal. I substituted a gardein brand veggie chicken. This was delightful and a surprising combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Unbelievably good! I added some sliced cherry tomatoes to the sauce right when I took it off the heat. I had to use vanilla soy milk because I have a lactose intolerance and that was all I had on hand(weird - but it still turned out great). Finally, something different and new. Thank you for this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ACL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
This is easy and delicious! The sauce would work for many other dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
You're going to die when you find out what I did to this recipe (chef, please forgive me). I'm a compulsive substituter, because I hate waste and spent many years living in the woods far from town, so always use what's at hand. Ask my grown sons. Oh, the stories. So, I followed all the instructions, except didn't have dates, so substituted (ready?) fresh blueberries. I know they don't even remotely resemble dates, but wait till you hear what happened to the sauce! As it cooked, it turned a gorgeous lavender cream color. Ah, so beautiful. Goat cheese replaced the mascarpone (which I suspect prevented the sweetness that was prominent in others' comments) and it added an absolutely awesome depth of flavor. Tomato dices (didn't have cucumbers either!) sprinkled liberally added to the beautiful colors -- cream-colored couscous, light-blue tinted sauce with bright red accents. And, the flavors...Let's eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This recipe is now in regular rotation- the blend of these unique flavors makes the dish really special, and it's so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Lemon Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic chicken dish with a tart lemon-butter sauce.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States