Chicken Breasts with Herb Basting Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I take care of my 20 month old grandson four days a week, and this recipe has been a lifesaver. We can have a delicious dinner that is very simple to put together. Thank you so much for this recipe. I add a little lemon juice and Worcestershire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I used the ingredients of this dish to marinade some chicken breast tenderloins I had, and they were amazing! I simply put all of the ingredients in a Ziploc bag and sealed it for a couple of hours. After that, I just cooked them in a skillet for several minutes/side. So easy and so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I used boneless skinless chicken breasts rather than the bone in chicken breasts with skin. Everything else I made as the recipe called for. The chicken seemed a little dry and I thought it would have been a little more flavorful than it was. I thought it was just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Sissy
Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Used all ingredients as stated. Would cut down the 'black pepper' by at least 1/2 next time (the whole family found it almost overpowering). As for process, I prepared the basting sauce, and used 2/3 of it to marinate the breasts for a few hours in the fridge. When it was time to bake, I used the remaining 1/3 to coat 4 cut up potatoes, and added these to the same baking dish as the chicken. Chicken was very tender, and the potatoes took in the flavors very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Definitely go with skin-on breasts. I used boneless, skinless, as someone else had mentioned, and I think it's a fair assumption that the spices are so much more appropriate for a moister chicken which always comes with using skin-on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Dee Matthews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaford, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Chicken roasting in the oven is inarguably one of the best aromas to hit your nose. Even two chicken breasts for Hubs and me filled the air with that mouth-watering smell. I used bone-in, skin-on breasts as the submitter recommends. There is just no comparison between them and boneless, skinless chicken breasts. You get SO much more flavor with bone-in breasts! As one reviewer suggested, don’t worry if you don’t have the exact herbs called for – substituting, mixing or matching will all result in a darned fine piece of chicken; tender, moist and flavorful. A “Sunday Dinner” type of chicken for sure! I knew that covering the chicken would not produce the deep golden brown skin I wanted so I sprinkled it with paprika before it went into the oven and uncovered it during the last fifteen minutes of roasting. They were, indeed, the color I was after with a nicely crisped skin. Chicken breasts vary greatly in size, so use the cooking time suggested as only a guide. A meat thermometer should register 160-165 degrees and the juices should run clear, not pink. This is some of the best chicken I’ve had in some time and this recipe reaffirms that bone-in, skin-on breasts are superior to boneless. I served these with Lemon Parsley Potatoes and Green Beans with Cherry Tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
This is delicious. I did use different herbs to use what i had (rosemary, basil, mrs dash herb blend0 and used about 3 tbsp of garlic. I also seasoned the meat with cajun seasoning and a touch of lemon pepper. I also cooked a whole onion with it bc I didnt read the ingredients right. I added 3 tbsp of melted butter and a can of mushrooms to the pan. Cooked covered for 30 min then uncovered for 20. My hubsband couldnt stop raving about how good it was. Tonight with the leftovers I am making gravy with the pan drippings and pour it over some ratoni pasta and shred the leftover chicken to go in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess124

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Fantastic recipe! Very juicy. Next time, I will bake at 450 for less than 45 minutes, probably would be done at 35 minutes with the bone in breasts. I drizzled with olive oil and then sprinkled salt, pepper, Italian seasoning and garlic powder. This was pretty tasty and can made with many different varieties of herbs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mj

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Simple and very moist. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2012
See notes. Over night marinating would probably be even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 380) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States