Chicken Breasts Stuffed with Crabmeat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2002
Wow - the stuffing is amazing...but it took me a few times to perfect this recipe. My trick was to flatten the chicken before cooking and be careful not too overcook or burn on the stove. I pan-fried the chicken for approx. 5 min on each side over medium/high heat. Next, I baked it in the oven on 350 for approx. 15-20 minutes until the chicken was done. I can't tell you how wonderful it is once it's done right. But, it's not easy...you need to be patient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
We have made this recipe so many times - it is simply delicious. I always bake it (375 - 35 min) and I use Kellog's Corn Flake crumb mixture (NOT the cereal - next to the bread crumbs in grocery store)instead of bread crumbs and the semi-sweet texture is marvelous and never soggy. Fresh dill and parsley are an absolute must - don't substitute! Very good with asparagus/hollandaise sauce as an accompaniment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
pounded the chicken flat between plastic wrap, put dollop of filling in center and rolled up the chicken and secured with toothpick. brushed outside with olive oil and baked 350 for 1/2 hr. turned out great and topped with dill sprig for a nice presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Evanston, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
Great recipe. Here's how I changed it to cut some fat and some cost. I scaled the recipe for 6 servings and used a 6 oz. can of fancy white crabmeat which was less than $4 a can. It worked really well. I used neufactchel cream cheese which is lower fat but very good. My boneless breasts were very big and meaty so I cut them in half and then sliced into them as directed for the pocket. I used garlic and herb breadcrumbs instead of fresh. After I breaded them, I placed them into a large pan sprayed with cooking spray, drizzled a bit of olive oil over the top and baked for about 40 minutes at 375. The result was very good. Baking them reduces the fat and mess for easier clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
Didn't change a thing with this recipe and it was wonderful just as written. I say, if it ain't broke, don't fix it! :) Loved just the simple flavors of the fresh herbs, which enhance rather than compete with the flavor of the crab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
I made this recipe last night and it was a huge hit! For the filling, I just coarsly chopped an onion, took a handful of fresh parsley and dill and the cream cheese and put it into my little mini-blender, which worked out really well because everything dissipated nicely. I also baked this, I didn't pan fry it. I put it in a 350 degree oven for a half hour and they turned out wonderful. I fully recommend this recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYVIOLA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
This was good - and I baked it instead of Frying it. I baked it at 375 for about 40 minutes - couldn't have been better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stijerina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caledonia, New York, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
I loved this recipe! I kept the chicken semi-frozen when I cut the chicken to form pockets. The chicken then thawed and I stuffed the cream cheese & crab mixture (which I did double.) I also browned the chicken for 5 minutes or so. I then baked it on 350 until the juices ran clear. This tasted fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Deptford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2000
I have made this recipe 3 times now.......It is WONDERFUL! I've even just made the stuffing & used it for an appetizer served with crackers.....yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
I made this recipe for my parents' 50th anniversary party. The recipe was good - a little too fishy for me (and I love crab), but everyone else raved about it. I made the crab stuffing the night before - used chive cream cheese, flattened the chicken breast and sliced each breast so there was a pocket. I soaked the chicken in buttermilk the night before to help retain moistness. The next day I dipped chicken in flour, egg and then panko bread crumbs (which hold up better). I then browned each chicken breast in butter until a light golden brown, placed on paper towel until cool. I then stuffed each chicken breast with the crab mixture, placed in a baking dish and in the oven at 350 for 35 mins. I would recommend leaving in a little longer to ensure that the chicken is done. It does need some kind of sauce on top - just not sure what....definitely not anything rich. I tried to make the blender hollandaise sauce from this site - but it came out horrible - i don't like serving anything with raw eggs in it. If i make this chicken recipe again I will lighten up on the amount stuffing I used (I think I overstuffed and the fishy taste took over) and find a sauce that is not too heavy. Overall the recipe was good - just needs some tweaking. This could easily be made completely the night before or days before - just freeze and then thaw and reheat! I'm all for making things ahead of time and then freezing.....especially when you are having a big party and
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wappingers Falls, New York, USA
Living In: East Greenbush, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States