Chicken Breasts Stuffed with Crabmeat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
I made this recipe for my parents' 50th anniversary party. The recipe was good - a little too fishy for me (and I love crab), but everyone else raved about it. I made the crab stuffing the night before - used chive cream cheese, flattened the chicken breast and sliced each breast so there was a pocket. I soaked the chicken in buttermilk the night before to help retain moistness. The next day I dipped chicken in flour, egg and then panko bread crumbs (which hold up better). I then browned each chicken breast in butter until a light golden brown, placed on paper towel until cool. I then stuffed each chicken breast with the crab mixture, placed in a baking dish and in the oven at 350 for 35 mins. I would recommend leaving in a little longer to ensure that the chicken is done. It does need some kind of sauce on top - just not sure what....definitely not anything rich. I tried to make the blender hollandaise sauce from this site - but it came out horrible - i don't like serving anything with raw eggs in it. If i make this chicken recipe again I will lighten up on the amount stuffing I used (I think I overstuffed and the fishy taste took over) and find a sauce that is not too heavy. Overall the recipe was good - just needs some tweaking. This could easily be made completely the night before or days before - just freeze and then thaw and reheat! I'm all for making things ahead of time and then freezing.....especially when you are having a big party and
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wappingers Falls, New York, USA
Living In: East Greenbush, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
Very good! My boyfriend raved about it all week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
5 stars for sure. First I marinated my chicken(5 breasts) in buttermilk for a few hours as I do with all my chicken(1cup milk 1 TBS vinegar or lemon juice if no buttermilk) for that extra moistness. The fresh crumbs..I used 5 pieces day old bread, with 6-8 ritz crackers, fresh parsley and basil and blended it all up. Soo yummy. I did add grated lemon rind and paprika to the filling and talk about good..MMMMMM. I did brown the chicken till just brown and then baked 350 for 25-30 minutes. I topped with Blender Hollandaise Sauce from this site. Restaurant quality for sure. The filling alone is to die for! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2007
Pretty tasty, but I do agree with the others that state this needs a bit more seasoning. I used a good canned crab from Trader Joe's and a fat free cream cheese for the filling. I also baked this. I do think next time I might brine the chicken breasts a bit before filling and baking. The filling is very tasty and would be fun to play around with different combinations/additions,, sun dried tomatoes, spinach, garlic, mushrooms.. etc
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2007
I made this last night, and my husband immediately gave it a "6 out of 5". I used onion and chive flavored cream cheese and added crumbled bacon to the stuffing mix... Then browned the chicken in the skillet on both sides as the recipe stated (only for a few minutes per side), then stuck them in the oven at 375 for 30 minutes! PERFECTION!!! Also, had extra stuffing so I spread it on top of the breasts before baking them, then topped them off with a drizzle of hollandaise sauce and asparagus on the side. This is going in the "favorites" recipe box!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
This was very good! I will probably marinate my chicken next time first but other than that, yummers. I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
My family loved this. I had a little extra crab mixture and breadcrumbs, so I put everything into a baking dish with the chicken and baked it all for about 15-20m minutes. Very flavorful dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
Great recipe. Here's how I changed it to cut some fat and some cost. I scaled the recipe for 6 servings and used a 6 oz. can of fancy white crabmeat which was less than $4 a can. It worked really well. I used neufactchel cream cheese which is lower fat but very good. My boneless breasts were very big and meaty so I cut them in half and then sliced into them as directed for the pocket. I used garlic and herb breadcrumbs instead of fresh. After I breaded them, I placed them into a large pan sprayed with cooking spray, drizzled a bit of olive oil over the top and baked for about 40 minutes at 375. The result was very good. Baking them reduces the fat and mess for easier clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
This was a over the top 5 star rating. I did double the crab mixture and the used garlic & herb breadcrumbs, which you can buy in the grocery store. I also used garlic and chive cream cheese. I also found it helpful to brown the sides of the chicken in the skillet and then bake it for approximately 20 mins. or until the liquid runs clear from the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
The family loves crab, so this recipe caught my eye. I'm glad it did. It was delicious! I doubled the amount of crab in the mixture, added panko crumbs to it, to give it some body, then rolled the breasts in more panko. I browned them in the fry pan, but finished by baking them in the oven. This kept the crispy outside and the stuffing like texture on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States