Chicken Breasts Pierre Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
This is my kind of dinner! Easy and a unique, yummy flavor. I thought it might be just a bbq sauce; but it is much more... It reminds me a little of Cuban food. Some of the reviews said this was too sweet. My guess is it was their stewed tomatoes. This was not a real sweet dish with PLAIN DICED CANNED TOMATOES(instead of stewed)like I used. The idea of adding onion (esp. RED onion)sounds, to me, like it would be great; but I don't think mushrooms would work with this(and I love mushrooms). I think, a mix of sliced red onion,and red, yellow and green peppers (in the last 15 min.) steamed in the sauce, would compliment this sauce better; although the recipe is perfect just AS IT IS. I made with white rice and stir-fried, garlicky, fresh-cracked peppered green beans to make a meal. Although, any starch (noodles, rice etc.) and any green vegetable would be excellent with it. It made about a cup of sauce with flavorful chunks of tomato that we spooned over the chicken and rice. I made only four breasts, so I will double sauce for more servings. 'Gotta' have enough of the sauce to add to the rice! Nancy, you said your husband hasn't gotten sick of this in 15 years... mine liked it a lot too. I have a feeling I will be making for the next 15 years, also. Thank you so much for sharing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
326 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2002
VERY GOOD! Per previous reviews, I used 1/4 cup red wine and 1/4 cup water and served all over white rice. Next time, I think I will add some chopped onions and fresh mushrooms. In addition, I think I will cut the chili powder to 1 tsp instead of 2 (it overwhelmed the chicken). Overall, still really good and my family agrees that it should be on the "regular" list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2003
I would rate this even higher - these are ingredients you normally have on hand or they can easily be substituted. I scaled it to three using the exact measurements provided when scaled down. As a preference I used canned diced tomatoes, chicken broth (had it left over in the frig - water would have been fine), cayenne pepper since I didn't have hot pepper sauce. Followed other reviewers suggestions and added a small onion sliced into rings - I would never leave that out now. Also had some leftover corn in the frig which I threw in at the end. I pounded the breasts so they would be the same thickness, cooked them in 25 min. and they were incredibly moist. Keep an eye on it when it simmers - I did have to add some more broth which was fine - it held its rich, spicy flavor and was great over the rice. Another keeper. Thanks Nancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
Excellent! My husband, a professional chef, said, "This one's a keeper!" Only substitution I made was chicken broth instead of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
My family loved this recipe! I prepared this in my SLOWCOOKER browning the chicken first. (I did cut the chicken breasts in strips) I ran out of mustard powder so I used prepared mustard.It worked just as well. Because the reviews were so enthusiastic I decided to double the recipe to have lots of sauce. We had leftovers and tried this with both Whipped potatoes and small italian pasta. Yummy any which way you decide to eat it! Next time I would like to add some green or red pepper and some onions. This is a real keeper! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TORONTOMOMMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gaspe, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
This recipe is one of our staples. We have been making it for the last year. We do make a couple changes though. We reduce the amount of chicken breast halves from six to two. Also, we cube the chicken. When the sauce and chicken is complete we pour the sauce and chicken over fresh steamed white rice. Yummy. This will yield 2-4 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
A fine and easy recipe. I agree with other reviewers that red wine for water and white wine for vinegar worked well. I also added fresh sliced mushrooms and sliced red onions once the simmering starts. This is such a flexible recipe that "approximate" measurements of the ingredients works fine. I little more or less of anything just gives you a different taste the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
I always add a chopped onion to this too for great flavor and texture. 11/1/06: This was EX-cellent! I reduced the chili powder to 1/2 the amount, used 1/2 the amount of water so that I could do the other half in WHITE WINE; the wine really made the recipe as we've since used it and forgotten the wine, and could tell the difference. An extra splash of Frank's Red Hot Sauce doesn't hurt either! I love the combination of flavors and using all of the somewhat unusual-together ingredients to get there. The meat is tender, moist, and flavorful. SO good! A definite keeper. Thanks, Nancy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2001
This was good but not great. My husband really enjoyed it. I'll make it again because it's so easy and will cut back on the chile powder. This tasted a little too much like chili. There wasn't much sauce either so if you're making 6 breasts, I'd definitely double the sauce ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2003
Fantastic! This recipe's a keeper! Easy enough for a family meal and special enough for dinner parties. It is so delicious with rice, salad and crusty bread. I did take the suggestion of using chicken broth (using 3/4 C.) instead of water. Also, as per the request of my husband, I flattened the chicken breasts out slightly prior to cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,291) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States