Chicken Boston Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This was a very nice and easy recipe. The dressing gave it a unique and yummy flavor. I didn't add the cinnamon, just a personal preference. It turned out great. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
After reading all the comments about this recipe being so sweet, I built a menu around it to offset the sweetness. However, we didn't find it all that sweet. It was definitely a different experience; interesting, but whether we love it or not will have to take a couple more times of eating it. Also, my grocer did not have pineapple-apricot preserves, so I mixed a small tin of crushed pineapple with a jar of apricot preserves. We will definitely have it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Logansport, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
This recipe was frustrating and then wasnt worth it in the end. I read such great reviews, so I made it tonight. I used chicken breasts (boneless) and drumsticks instead of a whole chicken. The potatoes and sauce I kept exactly the same. After baking for the recipe's 40 and 15 minutes, I had to bake another 35 minutes until the chicken was done. Then the potatoes were still not done, and I even cut them in quarters instead of halves, so they should have cooked even faster. THe sauce in itself has a great flavor. I love the combination. But it didnt really get into the chicken much (maybe it shoudl be marinated first?) and the chicken was SO moist - it was TOO moist. I think these should be browned first b/c the chicken is almost soggy. I think this sauce is a keeper, but it just cant be baked the way it says in the recipe in my opinion. If I choose to use the sauce again, I'll use it with a pork tenderloin, or marinate the chicken in it, and then brown the chicken first before baking it. I'll also bake at 325 first, instead of 300 before upping it to 375. And the potatoes will be separate next time - or cut in even smaller pieces. Too bad! Looked good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burleson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
Grating an onion was a blinding experience. I thought this recipe was good but my chicken loving daughter said it was too sweet. My husband said if I liked it I could make it again but he would not look foreward to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
I think this could be a misprint! I've made this many times, but NEVER with Thousand Island Dressing! Use the old fashioned orange French Dressing, and you will really like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
This is definitely not a dish me or my family enojoyed. The chicken was juicy, but the flavor was not something we were used to so it wasn't a big hit. My picky eaters did not like it. Thanks for the recipe but we will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
Wow! What a change of pace for flavor! Weather too hot to use the oven, so made it in the crockpot. Chicken breasts turned out wonderfully moist and tender...made a very nice gravy while cooking. I skillet-browned potatoes before adding to crockpot later. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
Quick, easy, delicious! My kids loved it and mom and dad, too. I used boneless breasts cut into small pieces and my potatoes were also cut into smaller chunks. Everything cooked through and the chicken was especially moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
Sorry about the low rating, but I had a few problems with this recipe. The potatoes didn't cook enough even though I added and extra 20 mins to the baking time. Also, the Thousand Island dressing added a funny flavor to the sauce. I did brown the chicken on the stove first and that helped keep the skin crisp. But, unfortunately the only thing was liked about the recipe was that the chicken was very very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bay Shore, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
really enjoyed the flavors on the chicken and the potatoes, great combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Cave Creek, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Biscuits

It's like a cross between chicken pot pie and chicken and dumplings.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States