Chicken Borscht Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Great way to use low cost chicken thighs. Really tasty mix and divine with just a little lowfat sour cream on top. Did increase the garlic and used 2 cup vegetable stock with water to boil the chicken, which gave enough flavor without the added salt, but that was the only adjustment. Will do this again - a great way to use fresh beets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
This was an excellent recipe. It was my first time making Borscht with my sister since I got back from a Russian trip this last summer. We tried Chicken rather than pork for something different. Other than what is in this recipe we changed Bay Leaf for some dill weed and parsley. We also added a teaspoon of sugar for a little extra flavoring. We also had about a teaspoon of pepper and salt. It turned out really good. I would definitely use this recipe again. Also to finish it off we topped it with sour cream for a final dish to serve. It will be a great dish for our New Years celebration tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FIRESTALKER
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Yes agree on the Dill the original recipe I submitted had a spoonful of sour cream and a sprinkle of dill to finish in the bowl. Allrecipes left it out for some reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FIRESTALKER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Romeo, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Very close to traditional ukrainian recipes. Borsch is so much more than just boiled beets! I would add *dill*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
great winter soup with lots of winter vegetables, but not heavy. I added some honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This was fantastic, the perfect bowl of a hearty soup on a winter day. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Great! All in my family liked it... even asked for seconds. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARINARMALIK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Covington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Excellent! I've never made borscht before but this was great! I substituted chicken breasts for the chicken thighs and then shredded them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
This was delicious. It was hearty and aesthetically looked great too. I modified a few things- I used bagged cole slaw for the cabbage and used beets I had prepped & frozen previously, which sped up the process. I also substituted red wine for the red wine vinegar. This soup has a delicious flavor! Even my husband, the self proclaimed non-vegetable eater, went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gravylegs

Cooking Level: Intermediate



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States