Chicken Bog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Really good as is! Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madeira, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This was a PERFECT meal for a snow day! Nice and hearty! I did not add the italian seasonings after so many people discouraged it. I took bits of recommendations from multiple reviews, and mine came out fantastic. I boiled chicken breasts (boneless) with 2 bay leaves, 2 garlic cloves, and about half an onion, chopped. After about 30 min (since I was using boneless chick), I removed the chicken and shredded it. I measured out 4 1/2 cups of chicken broth and discarded the rest. To the broth I added the cubed sausage, shredded chicken, 1 1/2 cup rice, a TON of black pepper, some Mrs Dash seasoning and a little bit of Lawry's Seasoned Salt. I brought it to boil and then lowered it to simmer for about 30 min. It was DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARRIEMC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This is money. Used a rotisserie chicken. Very filling/satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I love Chicken Bog so much, and it truly is a regional recipe. I'm from Greenville SC & know it from my SIL who grew up in Florence SC. I was @ work in Clearwater FL one year and said I was bringing Chicken Bog for our Christmas Dinner. One of the guys said, "How do you know about that? I never knew anyone who knew what that is". He had been stationed at Parris Island and a friend's GM made it for him. He was delerious when I brought it in. He was a big guy and loved him some CB!! I love it with the little maple (or plain) breakfast sausages. Oh yeah, no self-respecting Southerner would use Italian Seasoning!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I gave this 5 stars because it is an excellent recipe! The only thing I would change though is the amount of salt. It was way too salty for us. Definitely a keeper though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lissa3967

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placentia, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Loved it!!! Didn't add the italian seasoning like others suggested, but followed the recipe other than that. Will make this one again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
This is really good. I lived in SC for 6 years and loved this, I did not use white rice though a SC native told me to use yellow rice and it is really good with the rice and SC natives never use italian seasoning. But a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
My whole family really enjoyed this dish. The changes I made: used approx 4lbs drumsticks, 2 cups rice and omitted sausage. I only used 1 tbsp Italian seasoning and think that 2 tbsp would have been complete overkill. I also omitted the chicken bouillon as the tbsp of salt provided plenty of flavor. I used all of the water left from boiling the chicken and it was just about perfect for the 2 cups of rice. Will def make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAMM2000

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I live in SC and with a couple tweaks, this is just like what the locals make. When I boil the chicken I add a little olive oil, herbs, and salt/pepper to the water. We like ours with more rice so I increased to 1 1/2 cups rice and 4 1/4 cups of chicken broth. As others have stated, make sure you bring the mixture to a boil, then reduce heat to low and cover for 30 minutes (don't peak). The rice turns out perfect this way. Omit the Italian seasoning - a little salt and pepper to taste is all that is necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I grew up in coastal SC and this is a fall and winter staple. I couldn't give this recipe all the stars, although it is a good place to start for beginners. But on the downside, the Italian Seasoning is a u-turn in the wrong direction from the roots of this dish. I use about 2 lbs of meat- I generally use boneless skinless chicken thighs. To your biggest stock pot add the chicken. If you’re using a whole chicken just cover it so that there is about 2 inches of water above the chicken. If you’re using parts use enough water so that it would cover the chicken even if you had double the amount of meat in the pot. Then add two halved onions, 2 carrots and 2 celery ribs cut so that they submerge about 10 whole cloves of garlic 2-4 bay leaves and 2 tbls black whole peppercorns and salt (½ tsp salt/cup water). Then boil…3 hours should do the trick. When you’re done cooking the meat scoop out the meat and put it in a bowl and shred it when it is cool enough. Throw out the aromatics – all that should be left is the broth – no need for bouillon or canned broth. If you used a whole chicken, you may want to skim off the fat. Measure your broth and then use the correct amount of rice. Put the chicken back in the pot with the broth, put in a diced link of (cooked) smoked sausage on top of the chicken and put the rice on top of the sausage and bring it to a boil. Cover it, reduce the heat to simmer and cook 20 minutes. Stir well and taste- add a little pepper or salt and serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Cookworm

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States